15 Reviews

FANTASTIC. I added the juice from one lime and 1.5 chopped avocado and it sent my DH and all the kids over the moon. I used 12 tomatillos and one serrano pepper and there was only a hint of heat - probably could have stood it to be a little bit spicier, but there was so much flavor that it didn't matter... and the six year old could handle it. Flavors get better over the next couple of days. New household fave for sure; thanks a bunch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
betsysanz February 11, 2010

Excellent. I do recommend adding the juice of a lime. Just brings a little added brightness to it. (I grew tomatillos for the first time this year and can't believe how many a single plant can produce.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EyeGuy September 22, 2010

This is so good! I have always cooked my green salsa before, but never again! Used a serrano and a jalapeno and a whole bunch of cilantro and a little lime juice. Perfect! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingin7 February 07, 2009

We really liked this. I hate cilantro and the hubby hates jalepeno so I cut each of those two items in half and all was well ;-) It tasted great added to some pureed avocado too. I love that you can freeze it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emcquaid August 11, 2014

I used 1 1/4 lb fresh tomatillos with 3/4 lb roasted tomatillos. No fresh cilantro so used frozen cilantro cubes and 2 small jalapenos seeded with extra garlic. A very bright green flavour. Looking forward to using this salsa in some meat dish recipes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay October 11, 2011

Awesome fresh salsa with just the perfect amount of heat! I hand-chopped the ingredients instead of using a processor because I love chunky salsa. It was worth the effort. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 04, 2009

Made for ZWT5 (Groovy Gastronomes). Photos will be posted in Cooking Photos Forum and this review will be edited to include a link to the photos. I love salsas, but the combination of tomato, onion, garlic, etc., especially when "cooked" in the canning/bottling process, loses crunch and eventually becomes boring. This recipe is a real "wake up" call, for freshness, crunch, and just the right hint of spice and fire. I made it once, on the strength of a couple of the reviews ... and have now made it almost every other night!! This will be a summer favorite of mine as often as I can get tomatillos. Even more surprising, my DS, DD, and SO, none of whom like "spicy" food, loved this ... it's a hit all around. Great recipe, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gandalf The White June 02, 2009

Made for ZWT5... Delicious!!! Took it camping with family, and it was a hit!!! I made it, and let it sit for two days before digging in. The tomatillos and cilantro made it green and zingy, and the white onion, garlic and jalapeno pepper added a good heat. Pair it up with some good tortilla corn chips, and enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yogachef May 17, 2009

Delicious! I have never used tomatillos before, but I got them in my co-op this week so I had to try a new recipe. Wonderful, thank you for sharing a recipe that didn't involve much prep time or roasting the tomatillos or peppers. It was super-quick and so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jessi March 22, 2008

Loved this and felt the flavors deepened even more as it sat long in the fridge. I served it with tortilla chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 June 27, 2007
Tomatillo Salsa Fresca