Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Tomatillo Salsa Fresca Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomatillo Salsa Fresca

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2010

      FANTASTIC. I added the juice from one lime and 1.5 chopped avocado and it sent my DH and all the kids over the moon. I used 12 tomatillos and one serrano pepper and there was only a hint of heat - probably could have stood it to be a little bit spicier, but there was so much flavor that it didn't matter... and the six year old could handle it. Flavors get better over the next couple of days. New household fave for sure; thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Excellent. I do recommend adding the juice of a lime. Just brings a little added brightness to it. (I grew tomatillos for the first time this year and can't believe how many a single plant can produce.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This is so good! I have always cooked my green salsa before, but never again! Used a serrano and a jalapeno and a whole bunch of cilantro and a little lime juice. Perfect! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I used 1 1/4 lb fresh tomatillos with 3/4 lb roasted tomatillos. No fresh cilantro so used frozen cilantro cubes and 2 small jalapenos seeded with extra garlic. A very bright green flavour. Looking forward to using this salsa in some meat dish recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Awesome fresh salsa with just the perfect amount of heat! I hand-chopped the ingredients instead of using a processor because I love chunky salsa. It was worth the effort. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Made for ZWT5 (Groovy Gastronomes). Photos will be posted in Cooking Photos Forum and this review will be edited to include a link to the photos. I love salsas, but the combination of tomato, onion, garlic, etc., especially when "cooked" in the canning/bottling process, loses crunch and eventually becomes boring. This recipe is a real "wake up" call, for freshness, crunch, and just the right hint of spice and fire. I made it once, on the strength of a couple of the reviews ... and have now made it almost every other night!! This will be a summer favorite of mine as often as I can get tomatillos. Even more surprising, my DS, DD, and SO, none of whom like "spicy" food, loved this ... it's a hit all around. Great recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Made for ZWT5... Delicious!!! Took it camping with family, and it was a hit!!! I made it, and let it sit for two days before digging in. The tomatillos and cilantro made it green and zingy, and the white onion, garlic and jalapeno pepper added a good heat. Pair it up with some good tortilla corn chips, and enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Delicious! I have never used tomatillos before, but I got them in my co-op this week so I had to try a new recipe. Wonderful, thank you for sharing a recipe that didn't involve much prep time or roasting the tomatillos or peppers. It was super-quick and so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Loved this and felt the flavors deepened even more as it sat long in the fridge. I served it with tortilla chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      This was the first time I tried making a tomatilla salsa, and I'm really glad I did! I chopped the whole thing in my food processor and it turned out perfectly. I used a whole onion, 1 1/2 tsp chopped garlic, and added 1 T lime juice. I didn't use any sugar. This recipe will definitely go into my Favorites cookbook and will be used often. Many thanks for posting this one, Cookgirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      YUM YUM YUM! This tastes healthy and will make your taste buds happy! I added about 2 TBS of Mexican sour cream, trying to recreate a salsa I have had at a local taqueria. (Taqueria Arandas green salsa) This is very different but just as good. This will be served often in our casa! Keep cookin' Cookgirl, and thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      This is a great salsa! I love the fresh flavor, beautiful color, and how easy it was to make. The only change I made was to substitute the sugar with a bit of stevia. I didn't bother chopping the onion, garlic, or tomatillo, just threw it all in the processor. I trust my Wolfgang Puck processor to do the job for me and he didn't fail me :) This is a very nice change of pace from the usual tomato salsas and I will definitley be making it often! Thanks again, Cookgirl! Knew I could count on you for yet another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      As I was preparing this I thought about using red onion to give this color contrast, but the green on green was so beautiful, I'm glad better judgement prevailed. This was so delicious. Since I like a little texture, I pureed three-quarters of the tomatillos but small diced by hand the final fourth. Finished it off with a quick squeeze of lime (more green) and sat back for a perfect guilt-free healthy snack (with baked chips and carrot sticks). Thanks cookgirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Excellent salsa and such a pretty color. Served it with tiny cherry tomatoes and it looked like Christmas. Thanks, CG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Salsas Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomatillo Salsa Fresca

    Serving Size: 1 (539 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.3
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    22%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 395.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 15.2 g
    61%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites