Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Tomatillo Pork Braise With Pickled Chilis (Puerco En Salsa Verde Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tomatillo Pork Braise With Pickled Chilis (Puerco En Salsa Verde

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2010

      I made this last night, it was wonderful! I used tomatillos from my garden that I put in the freezer last fall. I didn't change anything else. We loved it! Served with Honey Cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I did this in the oven very low for 5 or 6 hours and there was no sauce to work with so I added the extra liquid from #97498 then added the beans. Tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This is a super simple and tasty recipe. I followed it as written and it came out perfect. I am adding it to my favorite slow cooker recipe file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      excellent recipe. i put it all together the day before and the next day i just pulled it out of the fridge and turned it on! the recipe was very easy to put together. i did make some changes, i doubled the garlic, i used fresh serrano peppers instead of the pickled japs, i used flat leaf parsley instead of cilantro, i added an onion with the tomatillos, i sprinkled the mixture with chicken boullion powder instead of salt, i omitted the sugar and cooked on low rather than high. thanks for sharing this great crockpot recipe! i'll have to try some of your variations too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Something REALLY different ! I had a 4 lb. boneless pork roast, and I THOUGHT 2, 1 -1/2 lb. cans of tomatillos. Well -- 1 can had completely eaten through the top of the can -- the other looked and smelled OK. I proceeded with the recipe, doubling the other ingredients, and cooked for almost 7 hours. After removing the pork cubes, I whizzed with my immersion blender, and added some flour water. For beans , I had 2 cans of Cannellini beans, and no fresh cilantro -- but used a generous portion of dried. Served over left-over couscous I thought it was fairly tasty - (have LOTS of left-overs !), but DH was not so enamoured. Did add sugar at the end, and some lemon juice to cut the salty flavor. I will freeze 2 meal portions, and try to surprise him again in a little while ! Thanks, Witch Doctor, for a tasty change in menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      My oh my, Cookiedog, was this scrumptious! I don't often cook with tomatillos, and don't know why. This was absolutely wonderful! Couldn't have been easier to put together. Used the seeds with the pickled peppers as we like a little more heat, and also deleted the beans. Thanks for posting, Cookiedog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      EXCELLENT and EASY! I used lean sirloin pork so it wasn't as flavorful as the fatty kind but it was still very good. I LOVE tomatillos! I used cannellini beans, pickled jalapeno slices and didn't need the sugar. Thanks for this keeper recipe cookiedog! Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Another new favorite! I might do two lbs. of meat next time, though, cook on low, and use more jalapeños (used 4 this time). This was really easy to throw together, and soooo yummy! I skipped the beans and the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Wow--that was good! Did all my veg prep and marinated the pork in the worcestershire the night before. Used a small can of green chilis instead of the jalapenos and skipped the beans and sugar. Served over cous cous! Will definely make again-thanks cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tomatillo Pork Braise With Pickled Chilis (Puerco En Salsa Verde

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.7
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    48%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 80.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 292.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    41%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 29.4 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites