8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This meal was terrible. It had no flavor and refried beans with pasta is not a good mix. You have to drain the tomatoes, there is just too much liquid left over and we needed to keep baking it for longer. We thought this would turn out after reading the recipe & reviews but unfortunately it did not. Ate some left overs today and I could hardly stomach it. Keep Mexican recipes the way it's supposed to be in my opinion. Just my 2 cents.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serpico January 13, 2009

This was amazing! My family loved it! We will definitely make this again. When I realized I only had 1 can of tomatoes with green chiles , I decided to just use that 1 can and a regular can of diced tomatoes with no extra chiles. It worked out great! I didn't think I would like the olives but I stuck to the recipe and used them anyways....they really add to the flavor!! yum yum!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yumyumum March 08, 2008

I recently made this to take to two families with new babies. I halved the recipe and put it in two 8x8 pans, one for each family. I didn't add cilantro as I don't like it and therefore didn't have any on hand. This was perfect because I was scheduled to take one meal on a Thursday and the other on a Friday, but only had to cook once since this holds so well in the refrigerator! Both families (including the older kids) loved it and the moms both asked me for the recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * February 29, 2008

Oh my was this ever delicious! I left out the olives and cilantro since I don't care for either, but it still had such a great taste. This is a definite winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine Puddles October 28, 2006

Tex-Mex comfort food! Definitely satisfy any cravings. Used gouda as we don't have the colby-monterey jack mix here, and kalamata olives instead of green. Loved the way the flavours melded and binded and loved the oozy-goodness of the tomatoey sauce with the melting cheese. This is really good stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens September 22, 2006

We really liked this dish. Unfortunately, I missed the "refridgerate 8 hours" part, but I had used Hodgson Mills WW lasagna, and it turned out fine cooking it the prescribed time w/o the refridgeration. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Conley May 07, 2006

We loved this recipe! The flavor was excellent and one comment was it was just as good as if we were eating out. However I did make a mistake by pouring off all the extra juice from the canned tomatoes. Mine ended up a little dry and pastey. I will definitely put the juice in next time. I did end up adding a third can of tomatoes with chilies and 2 extra cups of chicken and of course more cheese on top. Next time I will probably add more refried beans and sour cream to the last layer. With all that said it was still great! I will be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greatdin-din May 06, 2006

I chose this recipe for Pick-A-Chef '06 because it contained ingredients that my family loves. Wow!! Not only is it delicious, but very convenient, too. I loved the fact that there were no noodles to cook, and because it is made the day before, it is simply popped into the oven and dinner is done!! My family devoured it and gave it 2 big thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill May 02, 2006
Taco Fiesta Chicken Lasagna