Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Spicy Mexican Bean Burger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Mexican Bean Burger

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2009

      Yum! Whenever I can make a vegetarian dish that my husband would like me to make again, that's five stars! I omitted the corn because he doesn't like it and I used quick oats instead of flour. I also went heavy on the seasonings because we like things spicy. To cook, I fried them in a thin layer of olive oil, turning several times and finally topping with cheese. My husband said it reminded him of a torta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      My husband really liked them, the kids; not so much. I thought they were really good, filled me up very fast. I only got through about 3/4 of it. Awesome if you are trying to watch your weight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      This is amazing! I"ve never had a veggie burger before but I have to tell you, the kids and I LOVE it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This was a great burger. Even my non-vegetarian friends were raving about it. I used a lot more spice, because it was a little bland to begin with. I also doubled the recipe and had plenty for leftovers for the week. I used this base for burritos also. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      3 points for WW's without a bun.. The next time I make this I will not use as much flour as it taste realllllly pasty.. I UPed the anti and threw in some chipotle peppers, and topped with lettuce & tomato..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Have made several times with various types of beans (refried are not available). I found using mashed adzuki beans and finely chopped (not blended) veg works best for me. I've also slightly increased the breadcrumb and salsa content to compensate for flavour. Nevertheless, nice starting point of a recipe; I would not have considered adding salsa.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      I'm trying to use up what's left in my house and that's not leaving much to choose from in terms of dinner. Luckily I had evrything for these. Well, mostly! I used almost a whole cup of bread crumbs, the rest was made up of wheat germ. And I left out the olives because I'm out but most of the family won't eat them anyway. I served these on 40 Minute Hamburger Buns (which is not vegan) with fat free sour cream and salsa. A good refried bean burger! Filling and tasty, it's one I'll probably make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      These were delicious! I was concerned that they were very sticky but they held together really well when browning. Made only a few minor changes: I chopped the onion & pepper smaller and left them & the other veg. whole so the burgers had some small chunks. Also mixed in some chopped black olives instead of using slices and used about 1/4 tsp each chili powder and cumin. Served with sharp cheddar cheese slices and a southwestern pasta salad on the side. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      This is delicious! I made it tonight without the corn, and with extra amounts of the spices. I put in on a plate without a bun, and topped it with salsa, avocado slices and monterey jack cheese- heavenly! And the recipe is so flexible, I'm looking forward to trying it with different toppings, and maybe on a bun or a corn tortilla. Will add this to my "regulars" list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This recipe is a good start - as written the spices are really muted, I would double them at least. I found too that I could easily mix everything by hand. I omitted the corn and added one fresh jalapeno.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      These were filling and after I made a few changes absolutely delish! I did find the batter a bit bland at first so I added a bunch of extra spice, lots of tabasco and some lime juice. The batter was so easy to handle and this is the first veggie patty recipe I've used that hasn't fallen apart while cooking. Hoorah! I served on a bun with carmalized onions, tomato, avocado and cheddar for a great combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      These burgers were very good, and I'm sure I'll make them again. They didn't hold together all that well, so I added an egg to bind them (that did the job). Thanks for posting this....I really liked them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Nice. I used regular refried beans equal parts oats, panko bread crumbs and flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Wonderful and easy. I was trying to recreate one of my favorite restaurant dishes, a black bean pita burger, and this is just as good. I only used 1/3 cup of flour and 1/3 cup breadcrumbs, used red and yellow peppers instead of green, and refried black beans. Served it on a pita with red onion, lettuce, chopped red/yellow peppers, corn and Greek yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      A wonderful recipe that everoyone enjoyed vegetarian or not. I didn't have enough re-fried beans so added black eye beans. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      I took advice of previous reviewer and used masa. I liked the texture and the taste of these "burgers." I added sliced black olives (without stuffing them into the patty) and instead just mixed them throughout. I did have to COOK them on medium quite a while because otherwise the insides would have been too gummy. I ate them with salsa and sourcream. Quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      Wow Shannon! Thanks for the idea. The basic recipe is incredible. From there, I made a lot of changes to suit my tastes and based on what I had in the fridge. The end result was incredible thanks to your base recipe. Instead of bread crumbs, I used masa harina and I used whole wheat flour. I bought some of my favorite salsa from a local restaurant and used the carrot and a red pepper and a tiny bit of our own roasted green chile instead of the powder. No cumin because we don't like it around here and no onion because I forgot to buy any. If you like rellenos, tacos, or tamales, try the masa. It gives an awesome flavor and texture to the whole mixture. I can't wait to wrap the leftovers up in a whole wheat tortilla today with some cheese and the leftover salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Mexican Bean Burger

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.6
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    13%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 189.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites