17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! Whenever I can make a vegetarian dish that my husband would like me to make again, that's five stars! I omitted the corn because he doesn't like it and I used quick oats instead of flour. I also went heavy on the seasonings because we like things spicy. To cook, I fried them in a thin layer of olive oil, turning several times and finally topping with cheese. My husband said it reminded him of a torta.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl January 14, 2009

This recipe is a good start - as written the spices are really muted, I would double them at least. I found too that I could easily mix everything by hand. I omitted the corn and added one fresh jalapeno.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos January 22, 2012

My husband really liked them, the kids; not so much. I thought they were really good, filled me up very fast. I only got through about 3/4 of it. Awesome if you are trying to watch your weight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlowens May 11, 2010

This is amazing! I"ve never had a veggie burger before but I have to tell you, the kids and I LOVE it! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake January 20, 2010

This was a great burger. Even my non-vegetarian friends were raving about it. I used a lot more spice, because it was a little bland to begin with. I also doubled the recipe and had plenty for leftovers for the week. I used this base for burritos also. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarphine September 27, 2008

3 points for WW's without a bun.. The next time I make this I will not use as much flour as it taste realllllly pasty.. I UPed the anti and threw in some chipotle peppers, and topped with lettuce & tomato..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Jen July 14, 2008

Have made several times with various types of beans (refried are not available). I found using mashed adzuki beans and finely chopped (not blended) veg works best for me. I've also slightly increased the breadcrumb and salsa content to compensate for flavour. Nevertheless, nice starting point of a recipe; I would not have considered adding salsa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racceber June 09, 2008

I'm trying to use up what's left in my house and that's not leaving much to choose from in terms of dinner. Luckily I had evrything for these. Well, mostly! I used almost a whole cup of bread crumbs, the rest was made up of wheat germ. And I left out the olives because I'm out but most of the family won't eat them anyway. I served these on 40 Minute Hamburger Buns (which is not vegan) with fat free sour cream and salsa. A good refried bean burger! Filling and tasty, it's one I'll probably make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit August 27, 2007

These were delicious! I was concerned that they were very sticky but they held together really well when browning. Made only a few minor changes: I chopped the onion & pepper smaller and left them & the other veg. whole so the burgers had some small chunks. Also mixed in some chopped black olives instead of using slices and used about 1/4 tsp each chili powder and cumin. Served with sharp cheddar cheese slices and a southwestern pasta salad on the side. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 April 28, 2006

This is delicious! I made it tonight without the corn, and with extra amounts of the spices. I put in on a plate without a bun, and topped it with salsa, avocado slices and monterey jack cheese- heavenly! And the recipe is so flexible, I'm looking forward to trying it with different toppings, and maybe on a bun or a corn tortilla. Will add this to my "regulars" list!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kirsten (#1!) December 18, 2012
Spicy Mexican Bean Burger