Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Spiced Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2009

      I used all the spices, except didn't have any nutmeg. I didn't have vegetable broth so I used a combo of tomato juice and chicken broth. Also added a can of corn and 1/2 cup pasta. Oh, and my family likes meat, so I also cut up a left over bratworst for a little meat. We all liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I'm so impressed with this soup! Honestly, once I really started looking at the ingredient list, I was a little worried about the spice combination (cloves and ginger?!?!)....but the flavor was amazing! Wonderfully different and oh-so pleasing to the nose and the pallet. The flavors blended together perfectly and though the spices were certainly not lost in the soup, I did not find them to be at all overpowering as I had worried about. Both my picky BF and my good friend who is a vegetarian enjoyed it immensly. I used a can of organic, fire roasted tomatoes, added a little sliced carrot and substituted Mexican oregano in place of the regular oregano. I also omitted the dried cilantro and doubled the amount of fresh, chopped cilantro at the end and served with a dollop of sour cream. Made for ZWT5 Family Picks. This one's a keeper. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Wow...the kids enhaled this soup! I used diced tomatoes with jalapenos, mexican oregano, and a bit of adodobo. Added chick peas too...Thanks for posting...will make this again for sure. Made and reviewed for Zaar Chow Hounds...ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I love a nice flavorful soup and this was awesome! The combination of flavors were surely teasing my taste buds with each bite! I almost forgot to mention that I used Red Kidney beans instead of the black beans, and I added in a little pickled jalapeno juice to give it another dimension of flavor. I will make again definately! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Brooke! Made for Zaar Stars 1/09 Linda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      We truly enjoyed this soup. I skipped the puree part, added a dash of mexican hot sauce and included the cloves. Turned ut great. Tagged in zaar star forum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      This is a black bean soup unlike any other I've tried! The combination of flavors in this soup are fabulous! I used chicken stock, as I had no vegetable broth on hand. I also left out the bell pepper, again, none in the house. Other than those changes, I made as directed. I am planning to serve this with shredded cheddar and sour cream, although, I do not think this soup really calls for any additional condiments! Thanks, Brooke the Cook in WI

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      We always enjoy bean soups around here & THIS SOUP IS REALLY GREAT, different from most of my bean soups, but great! Really enjoyed the inclusion of nutmeg & cloves in this keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Made as directed without pureeing, and I used 2 tablespoons of olive oil since I didn't use a nonstick pan. DH loved it, but added a tablespoon of Frank's Red Hot Sauce for some heat. Very delicious! Thanks Brooke the Cook! Made for Vegetarian Recipe Swap #2.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Spiced just right! This is a nice change from the usual black bean soups that are spicy hot with cayenne or jalepenos, etc. I made this as written but added 1 extra can of black beans (I like my beans). I didn't partially puree it this time, but I'll try it that way next time. Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Both DH and I thought this was just OK. We enjoyed the flavor but thought it was on the thin side. We love black bean soup but would suggest either deceasing the broth to 1 cup or adding an additional can of black beans drained. I made as posted with all the ingredients including the spices. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This is absolutely delicious! I didn't have enough tomatoes so I used a can of diced, juice and all. Other than that I made as is. This is super easy, very flavorful, and a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      I found this very easy to put together. Like Linda's Busy Kitchen, I also added pickled jalapeno juice, 1/4 cup. I used Mexican oregano from Penzey's. Thank you for posting. Made during * Zaar World Tour 5* 2009 game for team *Genies of Gourmet*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I made this exactly as directed (although I did not puree any of it), and it was a departure from the typical black bean soup. It is very well-spiced, but I think I need to play with the seasonings a bit more. I felt the ground cloves overwhelmed some of the other spices, so I would want to make some adjustments next time. But there definitely will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.3
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    17%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 34.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites