13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used all the spices, except didn't have any nutmeg. I didn't have vegetable broth so I used a combo of tomato juice and chicken broth. Also added a can of corn and 1/2 cup pasta. Oh, and my family likes meat, so I also cut up a left over bratworst for a little meat. We all liked it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 November 08, 2009

I'm so impressed with this soup! Honestly, once I really started looking at the ingredient list, I was a little worried about the spice combination (cloves and ginger?!?!)....but the flavor was amazing! Wonderfully different and oh-so pleasing to the nose and the pallet. The flavors blended together perfectly and though the spices were certainly not lost in the soup, I did not find them to be at all overpowering as I had worried about. Both my picky BF and my good friend who is a vegetarian enjoyed it immensly. I used a can of organic, fire roasted tomatoes, added a little sliced carrot and substituted Mexican oregano in place of the regular oregano. I also omitted the dried cilantro and doubled the amount of fresh, chopped cilantro at the end and served with a dollop of sour cream. Made for ZWT5 Family Picks. This one's a keeper. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FolkDiva June 14, 2009

Wow...the kids enhaled this soup! I used diced tomatoes with jalapenos, mexican oregano, and a bit of adodobo. Added chick peas too...Thanks for posting...will make this again for sure. Made and reviewed for Zaar Chow Hounds...ZWT5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 June 10, 2009

I love a nice flavorful soup and this was awesome! The combination of flavors were surely teasing my taste buds with each bite! I almost forgot to mention that I used Red Kidney beans instead of the black beans, and I added in a little pickled jalapeno juice to give it another dimension of flavor. I will make again definately! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Brooke! Made for Zaar Stars 1/09 Linda

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 12, 2009

We truly enjoyed this soup. I skipped the puree part, added a dash of mexican hot sauce and included the cloves. Turned ut great. Tagged in zaar star forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby December 05, 2008

This is a black bean soup unlike any other I've tried! The combination of flavors in this soup are fabulous! I used chicken stock, as I had no vegetable broth on hand. I also left out the bell pepper, again, none in the house. Other than those changes, I made as directed. I am planning to serve this with shredded cheddar and sour cream, although, I do not think this soup really calls for any additional condiments! Thanks, Brooke the Cook in WI

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev December 03, 2008

We always enjoy bean soups around here & THIS SOUP IS REALLY GREAT, different from most of my bean soups, but great! Really enjoyed the inclusion of nutmeg & cloves in this keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 30, 2008

Made as directed without pureeing, and I used 2 tablespoons of olive oil since I didn't use a nonstick pan. DH loved it, but added a tablespoon of Frank's Red Hot Sauce for some heat. Very delicious! Thanks Brooke the Cook! Made for Vegetarian Recipe Swap #2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees September 27, 2008

Spiced just right! This is a nice change from the usual black bean soups that are spicy hot with cayenne or jalepenos, etc. I made this as written but added 1 extra can of black beans (I like my beans). I didn't partially puree it this time, but I'll try it that way next time. Thanx!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* August 07, 2008

Both DH and I thought this was just OK. We enjoyed the flavor but thought it was on the thin side. We love black bean soup but would suggest either deceasing the broth to 1 cup or adding an additional can of black beans drained. I made as posted with all the ingredients including the spices. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 15, 2010
Spiced Black Bean Soup