Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Mexican / Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    583 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 583

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2010

      I followed this recipe to the letter and it was PHENOMINAL! Why do people have to "tweak" recipes? And then how can they rate your recipe as a "5" if they're, "I added this, and left out that". Aren't they then rating their own recipe? I regress...GREAT DISH, Deb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      I just made these tonight and they were SO SO SO good!! I added a little cajun seasoning to the chicken while it was cooking with the onions to give it extra flavor. The other thing I did that was not mentioned in the recipe but suggested by other reviewers, was to add a can of Rotel to the sauce mixture. I used the Rotel tomatoes with habenero peppers to give it some extra spice. It turned out to have such a great flavor! Much better than anything I've had in Mexican restaurants. Thank you so much for posting! This will be made again real soon!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      These were so good (and probably so bad for you, but so good!) My husband usually eats dinner without much fanfare but he couldn't stop commenting on how great these were. I blended up my canned chilies in the food processor to better distribute the flavor and that worked out quite well. Might even use an extra can next time for more spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      We loved this recipe. I will admit, I read a lot of reviews before hand and tweaked the recipe based on comments. I used a Rotisserie chicken from the store and shredded it. I sauteed the onions in the oil with some Nature Seasonings. Once done I added the chicken, a pinch of garlic powder, pepper, salt and 1 tsp taco seasonings. I then added a can of original Rotel (that I drained of liquids first). I used this mixture and put into the tortillas with the cheese. The sauce I did just as the recipe suggests and I even used fat free sour cream. I added more black pepper to the sauce as well. We also served with a bunch of toppings. I topped mine with fresh cilantro, fresh diced jalapenos, lime slices and avocado slices. The others also topped theirs with salsa and/or hot sauce. I will be making this at LEAST once a month and sharing the recipe with others as well!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Wow! Very rich, creamy and absolutley delicious! I layered mine and froze them. I baked them @ 400, covered with foil for about an hour and half. Turned out perfect! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Loved these! Better than any cream of chicken soup recipe I've made and just as easy! I would recommend shredding the chicken over dicing it though. I used less butter, maybe 2 Tbs and added a bit more chicken broth to compensate, you would never know! Also I didn't have enough monterey jack cheese so I used a mixture of jack and sharp cheddar. I only got about five enchiladas out of them though, maybe my tortillas were bigger then usual? Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      Love it! My entire family has requested this meal at one time or another. I always add 2 tablesoons of cumin to the chicken and onions at the end of cooking. It adds a wonderful smoky flavor without being too spicy for the kiddos. Mmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I am always trying new enchilada recipes but I think I will be sticking with this one for awhile! So simple and so delicious. I made this recipe per the instructions but I did season the chicken and onions with cumin and some New Mexican Chili Powder as they were sauteeing. Highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Wow! I'm throwing my condense soup enchilada recipe away. This taste like authenic Mexican! I used extra green chillies and chopped green onions on top after cooking. I also used McCormick's enchilada sauce mix and added 1/2 tsp coco powder to the sauce. LOTS and LOTS of flavor. You can even add chili powder to the enchilada sauce to spice it up. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      I made these based on the first few reviews that I saw and now wish I had read further into the reviews. They are easy to make. However, other than the salt, they are not very tasty. I will not make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Very good...I took the advice of others and added cumin to both the onions/chicken and to the sauce. I also used a can of Rotel in lieu of the chopped chiles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      I fixed this to eat in front of the tv. DH ran upstairs before I served my plate to tell me how GREAT these were!! Instead of onions and chilies, I substituted about 1/4 c of chunky salsa, it was what I had on hand. This is super easy and the sauce is creamy. Regular rotation for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      Awesome sauce! Yes, I am a recipe tweaker, but hear my case...it was just what I was looking for, like a needle in a haystack...a recipe without creamed condensed soups. Well, I started with a recipe that did call for a creamed soup and came across this one for inspriation. I cooked the chicken breasts in a crock pot with 3 stalks of celery and 1 whole, chopped onion, seasoned with pepper & Adobo garlic salt. I let that cook until done. Set the chicken aside, and took all the veggies, juice from crock pot & a can of chopped green chiles and pureed adding broth to that to equal the amount called for in the recipe. Made the roux...and the rest of the recipe as follows. Loved it. Kids all but licked their plates (unknowingly eating onions, celery and onions). Served with my black beans and rice. Thanks for saving me from a creamed soup compliation! We will definetly be making this one again. For the enchiladas I used onc side of the the dish pepperjack; the other 1/2 sharp cheddar (for the kids). YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Made this yesterday and I'll say this, it's a bit time consuming but I'll get faster because these were DAMN good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I've made this recipe numerous times and I always get rave reviews. I usually add a can of rotel to the chicken before I fill the tortillas. I also use 2 cans of green chilies instead of just one, and I love cheese, so there%u2019s always a little extra added. Most of the time I will make half of the enchiladas with chicken and half with creamed spinach. I think I like the spinach and cheese ones better, but they are good both ways :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Excellent! My husband loved it, as well as the rest of my family. Delicious; and I did add a little cumin and garlic to the chicken and onions, and I ended up using only five tortillas because we like to really stuff ours. Other than that everything else was the same. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Normally, I shy away from sour cream enchiladas b/c I've never been a huge fan of sour cream, but decided to give these a try b/c it didn't have canned soup in the ingredient list. I'm SO glad did! The entire family loved it. It's creamy without being too creamy and the taste is not bland nor too overpowering. I LOVE that it is an OMAC recipe, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Very Tasty! Like others I added garlic and cumin to the chicken and onions. I was only able to fill 6 tortillas with meat and cheese and ended up using an 8 x 8 pan. Then I had leftover sauce. So next time I'm going to double the chicken and cheese. Otherwise this was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      This recipe is a 5 star recipe if you make some minor changes. You need to season the chicken! I use a chicken taco seasoning. Also to the sauce I add chili and cumin seasoning. Gives the recipe more flavor and not so bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      This is a great recipe and I have added it to my notebook of go-to recipes! I usually have all the ingredients on hand to make this, so that is a plus as well. I used the breast meat from a rotisserie chicken, sweating the onions first and then adding the chicken. It did seem to me that the chicken would benefit from some seasoning, so I added about a half envelope of chicken taco seasoning that I happened to have on hand, along with a splash of the homemade stock made from the remainder of the rotisserie chicken, which I used in the sauce as well. I used Mezzetta brand fire-roasted chili peppers, which taste a little smokey and have lime juice, cilantro and garlic added to lend extra deliciousness and a punch of flavor to the peppers. I used a combination of monterey jack and sharp cheddar cheeses, just because that is what I had. This recipe was as good as the sour cream chicken enchiladas I have had at a well known restaurant. I believe theirs had spinach added, and I think that would taste great, too. I scattered some diced roma tomatoes and cilantro leaves over the top, which made a very pretty presentation. I served this with Spanish rice and avocadoes. My husband was impressed by the dish as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 30

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 426.2
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    58%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 85.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 590.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 22.1 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites