Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Queso Blanco Mexican White Cheese Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Queso Blanco Mexican White Cheese Dip

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2002

      We really loved the flavor of this dip and it was very easy to make. The texture could have been a little smoother, but that may be due to the cheese we used. Overall, a really delicious dip that we will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      To avoid texture problems try adding about 2 - 3 tbl spoons of flour to the milk or cream, stir, then microwave, then stir some more until flour incorporates with no lumps. Add try spices to milk mixture, stir, add shredded or small cubed cheese. Can use microwave for a minute or two at 50% power, just avoid boiling. Stir, add chopped serrano and chiles, repeat heat and stir until desired texture is achieved. Can sub corn starch for flour. Add more cheese or milk until you get what your looking for, experiment. I add a small amount of garlic powder, and generally leave out the cumin if I am trying to replicate the Mexican restaurant white cheese dip.

      Reason: A starch is needed to coat the fat molecules in the mixture. The fat molecules are sticky and will re-combine with other fats to form clumps, coating the fat molecules with a small amount of starch prevents clumping.

      Also note: Do not try and use the Mexican cheeses called Queso Blanco, Queso Fresco, or Panella. They are crumbling cheeses not melting cheeses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Made this last week for a dip at lunch for co workers, but I tried this because I am making a new recipe that is for my cookbook and it would be nice to use this as a dip. I'm not sure why so many people had a hard time. A couple of notes, however. First one poster said monterey jack doesn't melt good ... I use it all the time and it melts great, but for this I did use Asadero for the flavor. I used heavy cream which I think worked better, but half and half should be fine, I use it often. I really enjoyed the onions, although I used a shallot (not much difference there) and didn't use as much (just shy of 2 tablespoons), but would have no problem using the full amount, cilantro, but I added it at the end so it didn't get an odd taste. Now, a few important notes. If you are NOT using heavy cream or half and half and using light cream or milk ... it may and probably will separate. One solution, simply sprinkle a little flour, just a teaspoon with the cheese and it won't happen. Also, heat to medium. NOT TO a boil, just a simmer. A boil even a light boil can make it separate. Make sure to heat the cream first and USE a double boiler to control the heat. Not directly on and NOT the mirowave. Warm the cream and stir in the onion, chilies, serrano, cumin (only 1/2 teaspoon) was all that was needed for me, and salt I didn't find was necessary. Warm to medium heat and cook 3-4 minutes. Slowly stir in the cheese until all is melted. Finally add in the cilantro at the end. Serve. Creamy ... but yes, this is a NOT smooth cheese like velveeta, as you can tell by the green chilies, but it has great creamy flavor and texture. I do agree that there is too much cumin and I am a fan. And I just cut down on the onion for more of the cheese flavor, but honestly, it is a very simple easy good recipe. You can always omit the cilantro or just use as a garnish if you are someone who doesn't like cilantro. For me it added a nice flavor. Very nice recipe. I will be sure to include in my recipe for my chicken dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Maybe I'm oversimplifying this, but all I did was use the cheese (12 oz asadero, shredded), 1/2 cup half-n-half, the green chiles, and a few tablespoons of minced pickled jalapenos. Microwaved for 30-second intervals at 50% power, stirring frequently, until it was all melted together. I sprinkled the cilantro on top. Perfect! My guests couldn't stop eating it. I think all the extras in this recipe are unnecessary. What I made deserved 5 stars! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      This was such a refreshing change from the velveeta dip. I added an 8 oz. can of diced tomatoes...we just like tomatoes. Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      would be much better without the cumin, and a little more half and half. if you're expecting to make the white cheese dip served in most mexican restaurants, this is not it. the amount of cumin specified in this recipe is way too much..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      I have access to a Mercado (Hispanic Market). Use Queso Fresco Cheese and it will turn out wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      I tried this recipe and it was a disaster. I used monterey jack and it would not congeal with the half and half. Instead, the cheese turned into a hard taffy-like glob in a pool of milk. Where did I go wrong? The only things I did differently from the instructions were that I cut my cheese into cubes instead of finely shredding it and I heated in a pot directly on the stove instead of using a double boiler. Were those the direct causes of my failed queso attempt?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Made this for Cinco de Mayo. I used 1 cup of monterey jack, and while melting and mixing, realized it needed another cup of cheese, which I added. I used 1 tsp. of cumin, and I think that was plenty. I also borrowed a page from my fondue knowledge, and mixed a tsp. of cornstarch into the cheese, before adding to onion, chile and jalapeno (subbed for the serrano).I used a glass bowl (heatproof) over a small pot, to replicate a double boiler. There was something missing, though I couldn't put my finger on it. I did skip the cilantro, due to personal preference, but I don't think that is what was missing. Thanks for sharing, 1Steve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      k so i tried this and it turned out bad no taste at all even tried adding a few more things to try and get taste still nothing so i think noone should make it this way

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      On the whole, the cheese and half-n-half did not melt well, and the flavor was mostly derived from the cumin rather than the cheese blend. The addition of salsa helped tone down the cumin flavor, but it was a far cry from the classic creamy white queso served at most restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      This dip had a great flavor but I agree with some others that I didn't get the smooth texture I was hoping for. I used Monterey Jack cheese. Maybe I'll try it in the microwave as suggested by another reviewer or try a different cheese next time to see if it improves the texture at all. I would like to defend the cumin in this recipe though! Several reviewers mentioned that the flavor was too over powering so I started with 1/2 tsp. When we tried it the first time I knew there was missing something so I added more cumin (it actually spilled so I'm not sure how much ended up in the dip, possibly more than what was called for?) and the flavor was perfect. Obviously personal taste comes in to this but I will say I got many compliments on the dip, one person saying "This is just like what you would get in a restaurant!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      this had really good flavor but it just didnt turn out very well as a cheese dip. I had to add a lot more cheese to make it where it wasnt so runny. Then the cheese seemed to not melt all the way and it wasnt as smooth as a cheese dip should be. And with the onion, chilies, and peppers, it just made it to much of a chunky sauce, even when mincing, and I like my cheese dips to be smooth. I really liked the flavor tho. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Not so good. It was WAY too salty. I had to put it back on the stove and add more cheese to try to reduce the saltiness. I had the same problem with the half and half floating on top and a gritty mass of cheese on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This did not work out for us at all. The cheese melted, but it is not creamy, and the half and half is just floating around it. The flavor is good (In fact, we LOVED the flavor), but we just ended up making quesodillias with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Chef, you weren't the only one that this recipe didn't work for, and I DO cook. I'm not sure what everyone else considers to be a "good" dip, but I ended up with a bunch of semi-melted cheese with half and half floating on top. Nothing like anything I've ever seen at a Mexican restaurant. I managed to salvage mine by going back to what I know which was a Bechemel Sauce. I poured off the cream that was floating on top into a 2 cup meauring cup and then added enough half and half to make 2 cups. I took the clump of cheese that was left and cut that into small pieces. next I made a Roux by melting 1/4 of butter and then adding 1/4 cup of flour whisking constantly until it no longer had a "floury" taste. I added a little half and half to incorporate and then added the rest of the half and half, whisking constantly. Once the mixture began to thicken, I mixed in the chilies, 1 teaspoon of cumin (which I will leave out in the future) and a few dashes of hot sauce. I turned off the heat (this is important do not do the next step with the heat on) and added the chopped cheese from the mess I had before and continued to whisk until it was incorporated. Turned out to be a nice creamy cheese sauce that can be reheated in a double boiler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      If I wasn't such a kitchen screw up I bet it would have been really good. I used Monterey Jack cheese, maybe that was the problem?? It separated and clumped up like crazy. Too much green chilies in my opinion too. But again, I am a rookie in the kitchen, and so far I'm not doing too good :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I've been looking for a perfect cheese dip recipe for years, similar to the Queso sauce they used to serve at Chi-Chis (now closed). This was pretty close. I used a bag of shredded Mexican cheese blend from the grocery store and it worked fine - no clumping or separating, but I did keep the dip warm in a fondue pot. This is important to keep the dip from separating or clumping, if you re-heat the dip it will not work. I also doubled the recipe because this recipe makes a small portion of dip. Very good recipe - thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Turned out great. I served it in a little dipping crockpot, so it stayed smooth and warm. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This was really good. I used green onions from the garden and just a dash of cumin. It tasted really great and fresh, but as soon as it came off the heat it started to clump. I think maybe serving in a small crockpot or even a fondue pot, would help it maintain its smoothness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Queso Blanco Mexican White Cheese Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.8
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    66%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 904.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites