Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Paula Deen's Mexican Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paula Deen's Mexican Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      This was okay. It made a very thin cornbread, but it had a good flavor. I used pickled jalapenos and added a handful of cheese. I may try it again and see if I get better results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Light and tasty. Made into mini cornbreads using a muffin pan - 15 minutes bake time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This cornbread was great! Whenever I try to make cornbread, it never rises correctly, but this turns out beautifully every time. I use pickled peppers from our garden and my dad really likes it. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was really good and just the right amount of spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This was the best corn bread. Not overly hot, but with a nice kick. Not overly sweet, just plain good. I made this in a 8 inch cast iron skillet I bought from a little old lady at a yard sale. Cornbread is the only thing I use this pan for and wouldn't think of making cornbread any other way. I guess that is the southern girl in me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      We enjoyed this cornbread so much. I used buttermilk and it turned out great. The jalapenos added just the right amount of heat for us. Served with chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I skipped any sweetening agents and then followed directions and this made great cornbread. As I used the buttermilk and it has sour cream I did add a half tsp of soda. It baked up beautifully, I haven't used the cast iron pan system in ages and it was fun to do. The 2 tbsp of jalapenos was just the right amount for me. This is a cornbread that I'll use many times. I'm looking forward to having it with chili this fall. Thanks Lainey for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I reviewed this on June 3oth for Zingo (ZWT3), but am doing it again since it hasn't shown up yet. I made this for my family and DH and I LOVED it. He really likes spicy foods so I went a bit heavier on the jalepenos, and we found this to be a wonderful cornbread we will make again! In the cookbook it goes! Thanks for posting Lainey!! Great with tomatillo soup,chili, you name it since cornbread is a staple in our house- my first choice for a bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Our family enjoyed this cornbread immensely! Personally, I found this a lighter tasting cornbread, our preference, and it went well delightfully with the Southern Chicken we were having. In fact, we used this to sop up last bits of sauce that went with the chicken. I halved the recipe, and it was so ridiculously easy to put together, that before I knew it, I had plopped her in the oven. I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 buttermilk, because I wanted to use both up. I sliced the peppers really thin, and just for the heck of it, I threw in some spring onion that I had used for our salad. I heated my cast iron skillet in my minature oven first, and when hot, dumped the cornbread mixture in real fast. It sizzled goodness all over! I then put the skillet (with the cornbread mixture) a top the stove on high heat for exactly 1 minute to brown the bottom. Finally, I just threw it back in the little oven where it sat and baked full of flavor and delicate taste. Thanks, Lainey...this was PURRfect for us! Made for *ZWT3 07*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I enjoy Paula Deen's recipes but I'm sorry to say this one didn't work for me at all. I followed the instructions exactly using buttermilk and not whole milk. The result was dry and tasteless, something I'll never make again. I wish I could do better by you and Paula but then I wouldn't be honest with myself. Someone will come along and give you a better review, I'm sure of it. Sorry. ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paula Deen's Mexican Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 468.1
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    42%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 67.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 717.1 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites