Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / My Own Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Own Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2003

      This is really delicious and absolutely amazing! You are right about the aroma of the rosemary. It is out of the world! The aroma of the rosemary wafting through the air while and even after this is cooking is "To die for", just as this rice is! I cooked this in Maggi vegetable broth with onions instead of water to make it even more flavourful. Since broth already contains salt, I did not add any additional salt while cooking. Since I did not have dried basil, I substituted it with fresh basil. I used a combo of green and red bell pepper to make it even more colourful! The vibrancy of the colours that emerge once this rice is cooked, "PERFECTLY" spelled out my happiness on the first day of my sitting behind the wheel;) I have guests for dinner tonight and I can bet that not one grain is going to be left! I'm glad that I doubled the recipe:) A zillion thanks for a brilliant recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      I made this as part of the Pick Your Chef cookathon. It is wonderful! The peppers and onions and herbs go together to make a very tasty combination. Very easy to make. I think I'll try this with ground beef added for a main dish. Thanks MEP!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      Very tasty rice and a nice side for our Mexican dinner. I accidentally added Mexican oregano instead of the basil (had it in an old basil bottle) and thought it was a great addition to the basil and rosemary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      We enjoyed this very much as a side dish with chicken sour cream enchiladas. I used hot salsa, so it had some heat. This is the best Mexican rice I've ever had - highly recommend this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      We had Tex-Mex tonight for dinner. My sister brought the enchiladas and I made your rice. Totally outta-sight. It is a winner in all categories--smell, taste, ease, and popularity. Thanks Meppie!! Definitely want to make this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      This was so easy and really good, and I like easy and good. I used fresh herbs from my garden which added an excellent flavor to the this. I will make again when I crave Mexican rice in a hurray :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I liked this a lot. My kids were not fond of it though but sometimes kids are kids LOL I served this with http://www.recipezaar.com/63786 and they went very well together. I will make it again but half the recipe for myself and DH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      EXCELLENT Rice!! I also cheated since I had some rice already cooked. The only thing I did different was add some diced green chilies, cumin seed and some cilantro. VERY good and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe MEP!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      MMmmm... Tasty rice for a Mexican meal. Next time I will throw in a chicken bouillon cube and leave out the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      Great flavor and very tasty. I cheated with the rice I had some already cooked in the freezer so I sauteed the onion, added the green pepper, garlic. herbs , Salt & pepper.Added the picante sauce, rice & Tomatoes (fresh Romas) mixed well, let it simmer for a few minutes to lry the flavors meld. I didn't use any water. -Perfect. Served with pork tenderloin, corn niblets & steamed fresh green beans. Thanks Mepster for adding a special something to a delicious meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      A good, versatile recipe. I used it in quesadillas and it was an easy way to add some color and texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      This was a very nice dish. I did substitute a can of diced tomatoes, and it was delicious. This will go into my permanent collection. Thanks, MEP !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2004

      Mep...we thoroughly enjoyed this rice dish...this different blend of flavors with the picante sauce and the tomatoes gave it such a wonderful flavor. I made this recipe using converted rice (Uncle Ben's), because of the tomatoes I was a bit concerned that using regular white rice might have had a mushy texture, but with the converted white rice it turned out just prefect. Thanks so much Mep for a wonderful recipe, I will making this again...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Own Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 363.5
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    24%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 787.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites