Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexican Taco Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Taco Casserole

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2011

      This was really good! I have to admit that I didn't really stick to the measurements given, but the combination of ingredients was wonderful. I used 1/4 of a large onion, 1 medium carrot (about 45g), 160g frozen corn, and a combination of green enchilada sauce and mild salsa, the cheese I didn't measure, but just covered generously with grated cheese. The other ingredients I did measure and added as per the recipe. I needed to cook this for 40 minutes to heat the middle through, and brown the cheese on top. The texture was wonderful- partially crisp and crunchy, partially soft and filling. I'm not a vegetarian, but I hardly noticed that there was no meat. Very satisfying, just as written. I did add a dollop of sour cream to serve. I'd say that this is 4 servings as written. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This is very good and my family really enjoyed it. It was simple to put together during a busy weeknight. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      We really enjoyed this easy to prepare casserole; I particularly liked the addition of carrots. I made as directed and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you, Lalaloula! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      This is a really fun casserole! I veganized it by using Vegan Gourmet brand cheddar substitute. It worked out nicely. I put it under the broiler for a minute after baking to get it to melt. I also used salsa instead of tomato sauce, as suggested by some of the reviewers. I did not find the carrots and onions to be too crunchy. I grated the carrots and minced the onion finely, so maybe that's why. Like Rita, I used a whole can of beans and extra chips. It did not say what size pan to use, so I used my 13" x 9" Pyrex baking dish. It was enough to feed my husband and I for 3 days. The leftovers were good: not to soggy or anything. I garnished it with Tofutti brand vegan sour cream, sliced avocados. It went beautifully with my Simple Mexican Side Salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      We really enjoyed this, something different! I did pre-cook my carrots and onions for five minutes, in the microwave. I used a bag of Doritos for the taco chips, think the bag was 150 gr which gave me perfectly enough. I used a can (420 gr) of chopped peeled tomatoes with chillies. I didn't measure the cheese, we like cheese so I piled on what I felt I needed! I used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella. This was not too hot for the youngsters, it was fresh and tasty and well-received by all! I made an avocado and tomato salsa to go with it, and served sour cream for those who wanted. Delicious, Lalaloula! This recipe was made for our November VIP, Lalaloula, Vegetarian Swap#16.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Very easy and tasty! The carrots should be shredded or sliced then sauteed before adding to the casserole. I used 8 ounces chips because that is what was needed to make 3 layers of my casserole each in single layer. 29 ounces of tomato sauce, canned beans are 15 ounces so that is what I used rinsing to remove excess sodium, I also did up the cheese by double to sprinkle on each layer. That said serving 6. Salsa would be a great replacement for the sauce. Garnished with yogurt and salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Adored this nifty recipe! I was able to put it together so easily, and was able to devour it 1 hour after I decided to make it. I had everything on hand, except I made my own tomato sauce from canned tomatoes with added Tabasco. And instead of the green chilies, I used fresh jalapeno, diced finely. Other then that this was so yummy, I might make it again tomorrow. Now I know what to do with those extra tortilla/taco chips sitting in the pantry just waiting for ....something! Made for Everyday is a Tag May 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This was good! I used salsa for the hot tomato sauce, which was nice. I think I would saute the carrots and onion next time - just a touch too crunchy. Made for 1,2,3 Hits. Thanks Lalaloula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This was a lovely casserole! So flavorful and delicious. The flavors blended well, and the carrots added a great crunch. I made some homemade Mexican-style tomato sauce based on my favorite one from Santa Fe Enchiladas, and it worked wonderfully. I also used Mexican-style 4 cheese blend for the top. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Taco Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (472 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.1
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    29%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 32.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1253.0 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 13.2 g
    52%
    Sugars 14.0 g
    56%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites