Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    570 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 570

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2009

      My husband is Dominican, so rice is something I cook every day. I thought I would try this to give a variation from white rice. It was excellent! However, for those of you who would rather not rinse your rice and still have it come out fluffy and not sticky, I can tell you exactly how to do it. It is the same way Dominican rice is cook. Follow steps 2, 3, 5, 6, and 7. YOU DO NOT NEED TO PUT IT IN TH OVEN. EVERYTHING IS COOKED ON THE STOVETOP. Allow all the water to boil out of the pot. When you see air holes in the rice and a wooden spoon can stand on its own in the rice, then you reduce the heat to medium low and cover the dutch oven with a tight fitting. Continue cooking the rice for 25 - 30 minutes. DO NOT REMOVE THE LID DURING THIS TIME. This method is great for cooking any type of rice dish and you only have. When rice is cooked properly, the grains will actually split open down the middle and have a firm texture to them, and that is exactly what happens when you cook rice by this method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Bring the cows up and open the barn doors, cause' this recipe is gonna zap you right into delicious, dreamy, "give-me-the-dang-spoon-now", kinda trance. I have never in my born days tasted such tempting, tantalizing, and tremendous tasting rice or Mexican rice for that matter. I followed this exact. I had never washed long-grain rice before, and now, thanks to Potsie, I know the trick to great rice. You MUST wash the rice. It truly, and absolutely does make a difference. I was hoping and praying for leftovers, but nothing, nill, nada. Oh yes! I forgot, I didn't have tomato paste, so used canned tomatoes. It was ever so good, just wait and see. I might try some blacken/roasted/jalapeno/peppers next time, but this is perfect in every way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I made this tonight with what I had of the ingredients and it was delisc and easy! I followed the directions up to step 6. I then place the stir-fried rice, garlic and jalapenos into my rice cooker adding the pureed tomatoes and onion and chicken broth. It turned out moist and full of flavor. Way easier than putting in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I just finished cleaning up after my family dinner party. I chose to have a Mexican buffet complete with chicken and beef fajitas, tacos, beef enchilada casserole, nachos, rice and beans, guacamole, pico de gallo and all the usual trimmings. Everything made from scratch! What a huge success! THE RICE WAS DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe except I doubled the recipe (I had over 20 dinner guests!) I used rotel tomatoes and I added a teaspoon of cumin and about a tablespoon of chili powder. It was fluffy and absolutely devine! Cooking it in the oven did the trick--no gloopy rice here! This will be my go-to Mexican rice recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I'm not a big white rice gal, but we were having a Mexican Fiesta night with all the trimmings and figured rice was a "must do." I COULD NOT GET ENOUGH OF THIS RICE. I followed the recipe fairly closely although did a 1.5 batch. The onion/tomato puree was fabulous & flavorful - I'd recommend sticking with the white onion. The strong white onion imparts an almost garlic-y flavor that the milder yellow/sweet onion would not. My big batch was tough to manage in the pan I had, so I would say it did not really get translucent or golden, but I did follow the method for the time length. Cooking time was a tad short for my 1.5x batch, but still delicious. Such flavor! I NEVER go back for seconds on rice, and usually avoid this high-glycemic, low-fiber grain, but this was SOOOOO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      I just made this recipe yesterday for my son's football team's pre-game meal. I made two batches of the single recipe, not knowing how doubling rice would turn out (I think the proportions are different when you multiply rice). Next time I will actually double it with the servings calculator and update my review, because I think it would help to have a large crowd review on the board.
      Anyhoo, I followed the recipe, but because of time constraints, I used a bottle of Herdez Medium Salsa instead of the tomatoes/onions/jalepenos, and made up the volume difference (to make 2 cups of tomatoes per recipe) with pureed canned tomatoes. I did find that I HAD TO FRY THE RICE FOR ALMOST 15 MINUTES to get it to the proper color. I think this is the most important step in the recipe for insuring that your rice will be fluffy, so don't quit at 6 minutes if the rice isn't light golden brown. I also added a tsp of cumin per recipe at the end of the fry time and stirred for a minute more.
      I put both single batches in one of the big dutch ovens I used to fry the rice, and baked for 40 minutes on 365?. I did stir the rice at the 15 minute mark and added thawed peas, carrots and corn. Then because I had an hour before I had to transport, I turned off the oven and let the rice sit in there to keep warm.
      THIS RICE TURNED OUT PERFECTLY! I am not hispanic, but even our hispanic players said this rice was better than their moms'! A couple of players thought they were eating at a restaurant :D We were scraping the bottom of the pan, and could have used another half recipe. We fed 32 people off of this double recipe, but could have used more.
      If you're considering this for a crowd, don't hesitate. It's so easy, esp. if you are using the bottled salsa. But err on the side of making too much, because they will want seconds or thirds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      This rice is by far the best recipe I have ever tried...I can even get a little lazy and substitute a 16 oz. jar of Hernandez salsa ( & only Hernandez) for the tomatoes, onion & jalape?os and it's still fabulous. Perfect, easy to follow directions...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      I've been looking for this recipe for 30 years!! I made it last nite and my husband stood up at the dinner table and applauded the rice.................It is just as good or better than the rice at mexican resturants. I just wish i would have found it sooner. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      the most amazing mexican rice ever!!! i've been wanting to make this for months and months, but the whole dutch oven baking scared me off. i am so glad a previous post said they put it in the rice cooker- i did just that (followed directions through #6, then put everything in the rice cooker) and it turned out beautifully. will be making this again and again! (oh, i also used canned tomatoes and thought they were great)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      I have tried so many Mexican rice recipes and they end up gooey. This one does not. I do not have the proper oven proof dish, so I just covered and baked in a casserole dish. This is a winner of a recipe. The first time I have ever made fluffy rice! I doubled the recipe and am going to make another batch tonight to freeze. Instead of the jalapenos which I did have, I added chili powder, cumin and taco seasoning. We absolutely loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Easy recipe that made delicious, fluffy rice. I used veg broth, canned tomatoes, and added some chopped green olives with pimentos near the end of the cooking time. My BF really liked the rice and said that adding the olives was a great addition (if you like olives). For us, there were plenty of leftovers for lunch the next day, so we got to enjoy it twice. I'll definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Made this with brown rice because that's all I had. This is a very good rice recipe and I will be making it often. Made with Chipolte Roast (#59224) another awesome recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      I've made this recipe several times, and it is quickly becoming a favorite in my house. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used brown rice instead. I cooked it in a covered casserole dish for 60 minutes at 350 degrees, and then fluffed it with a fork. Soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      I'm so happy that I selected this Mexican Rice recipe. My daughter and her family were coming for a visit from Charlotte to San Jose. I wanted to make their first meal here special. This rice is totally awesome (IF you follow the directions). I did decide to leave out the jalapenos due to the ages of the two smaller children. Even at that this rice was the best Mexican rice we have EVER had. Now that I've made it without the jalapeno, I think that one of the peppers might have been ok -- or at least a can of chopped green chilies. But for peace of mind, I am glad I made the decision I did. This rice is so "fluffy" and it has the authentic Mexican taste and appearance. It won't be long before I give it a try -- and include the jalapenos!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      We're not big rice fans in general, but my family and I LOVED this! I was looking for something to go along with chicken tacos that I made for dinner and I found this recipe. So glad I made it, and I'll definitely be making it again! The only change I made was to use a can of tomato sauce instead of the tomatoes (I'm not one to change a perfectly good recipe...I did this out of necessity!). It turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      YUM! This recipe produced a moist and flavorful dish. The lime added a little zing which was great with the cilantro. I think I will add a little more corn next time to give each bite a bit of that sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      I've made this as written, with rotel tomatoes with chiles, and homemade salsa and all were excellent. This by far is the best Mexican rice recipe ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Made this last night, was horrible! Rice wont absorb the puree mixture, two cups chicken stock isn't enough to soften the rice. Flavor was bland, a lot of work to wind up feeding it to the dogs. It was a big pot of glop! Followed the recipe, rinsed the rice etc.,etc., huge waste of time. I'd give it no stars if I could! Don't bother

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      We loved it! This was the first non-plain rice that my kids loved when they tried. It literally opened the doors to them eating other new rices. We love this recipe and my kids request it. They call it "orange rice" because of it's orangy color. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is now a staple in our family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      The rice came out perfect. I followed the instructions until #6 and then transferred to the rice cooker, much easier than using the oven. Thanks for the idea. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 29

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.1
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    31%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 644.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes