9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an awesome recipe! It tasted like tacos in a dish. I used pinto beans instead of black beans since that's what I had on hand, I added a Tablespoon of diced green chilies and I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta. The only complaint I had (and it's not even really a complaint) is that the juice from the diced tomatoes made it fairly watery so I think I'll drain them next time. But there's no way that this took away from the taste! I will make this again and again! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness May 19, 2011

This is perfect comfort food!! Easy to prepare and love the black beans in this! Used some low-fat cottage cheese and low-fat mozzarella cheese. Can't believe it's WW! :) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie July 29, 2009

It was okay. My DH complained about the onions. I think if the onions had been sauteed first, they wouldn't be so overpowering in the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mum@home January 08, 2009

Loved this. I used veggie crumbles instead of beef, skim ricotta instead of fat-free and regular cheese instead of fat-free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tofulove January 21, 2008

A great comfort food dish. I tried this with a small tin (4 oz) of jalapeno peppers. I liked the version with the ricotta cheese better (tried once with cottage cheese.) 1/2 can of black beans, one can was to much. Using the precise amount of pasta ensures this dish is balanced and not to dry. (I had doubled and used more pasta and the dish lost it's balance.) I keep an extra can of tomatoes to add in case it is not saucy enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvfood October 13, 2006

Good Recipe for WW. I used cottage cheese and home canned tomatoes and suppose this is the reason mine turned out too juicy. My DH requested I use more cheese, but I felt it was fine as is, can always add more to his at serving time....Thanks, always looking for good WW main dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu August 23, 2005

We LOVE LOVE this recipe. We have had it atleast 10 times already. It is so easy to make we always make an extra to freeze. Very easy to make and tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbey111 August 01, 2005

we loved this recipe. I used more hamburger and cottage cheese instead of ricotta but this was great and all who ate it now have the recipe. will be made often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foxjen February 05, 2005

This was really tasty. I used 1/2 pinto and 1/2 blackeyed beans as that's what I had in. I also used normal pasta since I'm not following the WW plan. I think next time I'll add some green bell pepper, because I was missing a bit more veg. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- January 31, 2005
Mexican Pasta Casserole