8 Reviews

Took other reviewers idea and sauteed ground beef and onions, mixed some cheese in with the meat and added Taco seasoning mix. It was absolutely fantastic! Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skooch April 19, 2010

This is just plain DEEELISH!! I too used meat.I make up a lot of "taco" meat so I had this in the freezer. Other than that I pretty much went by the book. I also didn't turn them over. I used my own enchilada sauce also. Hubby is so picky. I went to get the camera and when I got back, he'd already started on it. He said that it was close to being the best Mexican/Italian food he's ever had. I can assure you after 18 years of marriage to him, that it was an awesome statement. I did take a small bite, I'm on a diet, and I, too thought it was soooo good. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe and I'll be making this on a permanent basis!Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER April 12, 2010

Made this last night and it was voted "Great" by both hubby and picky son. I also used ground beef and onions and added the refried beans to that mixture. This amount filled 12 manicotti shells with some of the meat mixture left over. My son put some of this meat mixture in a tortilla and made a burrito before the dish was done baking. He said that was very good. He brought friends over later in the evening and they finished off all of the manicotti! Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuZQ in NE November 11, 2012

This was a superior dish. We LOVED it! I, too, used ground beef instead and thought it was amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl September 13, 2009

I used 1 lb. ground beef instead of the refried beans. I also added taco seasoning to the meat mixture, then fried it up, drained all the fat, and even rinsed it off with water and drained it all again. I added this to the cheese, then proceeded with the recipe as posted. Really delicious and a repeat for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetLee52 July 22, 2009

I sauteed beef and onions and had in place of the beans and I mixed some cheese in with the meat along with 3 T. Taco Seasoning for flavor, then stuffed my shells. It took a little work, but it was well worth it. Turned out great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Chef Lori~ September 26, 2008

Fantastic!!! We loved this dish! We had company over, so I doubled the recipe, and it was a hit! I made my own enchilada sauce and used about 12 cups of it, using 6 cups for each 9x13. I also used part mozzarella cheese and part cheddar cheese. I didnt have any green onions or olives, so I didnt use them, but it turned out perfect anyway! Plus my hubby was so excited that it was alot like tamales without all the work. I will be making this often, and thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ January 21, 2008

This was excellent! Adding the tomato sauce and water to the enchilada sauce made a delicious combo, without being too spicey for my DD#2. I added 1 lb ground beef, and cut down on the cheese (we're increasing the protien around here!). Then, I covered it tightly with aluminum foil, and baked for 45 minutes, without bothering to turn the shells over (got that idea from no-boil lasagna) Got the highest rating my family gives...."Mom, this is a definite do-again!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted May 20, 2003
Mexican Manicotti