Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexican Layered Ground Beef Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Layered Ground Beef Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2009

      Wow, the roux really is the secret to a great enchilada casserole! Corn tortillas work as well as flour tortillas, and I've even swapped out the red sauce with mole sauce. Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      This is a definite do again! The flavor was fantastic!! In the future, I will have the "gravy" pre made as this step took the longest while browning the meat. Also, I used flour tortillas as I like the flavor much better than corn tortillas. All in all, a winner. Thank you for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Easy to make all the parts and very easy to assemble. Everyone liked it and said they would like to have it again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Thus was really easy to assemble & delicious! No leftovers!!! I was also worried that the tortillas sticking up would be dry & too crunchy but they were delicious. A definiet keeper! Great photo, Kiwi!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Excellent! The tortillas soaked up the flavours and were wonderful, and even the bits that stick up out of the pan were not dry and leathery, but turned out like wonderfully flavoured crunchy chips. I used homemade vegetable stock in place of the chicken broth and the flavours were excellent. Please see my rating system: 5 stars for a recipes with buckets of flavour. Thanks !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      These taste very good, though we did spice up the flavor a little by using Ro-tel tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce. Next time I would increase the gravy as there was barely enough for 7 tortillas and so I had to improvise. Also, dipping the tortillas was quite messy and they kept tearing. I think to make it easier next time I will thin the gravy a little and then dip the bottom side of the tortillas only; then spoon the grave over the top side of the tortillas after they are placed in the pan. I didn't have any chicken broth on hand so I made some with chicken base. It made a broth that was saltier than regular canned or homecooked broth, but it was not too salty, so you may want to taste the gravy to see if you want to add salt if using canned broth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This recipe just didn't work for me. The roux was very, very thick and it was difficult to dip the tortillas in without tearing them. It was very messy. The 8 ounces of tomato sauce was not enough liquid to boil and then simmer as the directions stated. I had to add water to it. I used 1.25 ounces of taco seasoning and it was very strong (this may be my fault since I used homemade seasoning, not packaged stuff). Two tortillas in a 9x 13 baking dish did not cover more than half of the surface of the baking dish. A quarter of the meat didn't even make a layer on that size dish either. I ended up using a 8x8 dish and had way too much meat for that. I should have stuck with the 9x13 pan and used more tortillas. I only baked for 30 minutes and the cheese on top was starting to brown. The flavors were very good, so I will be trying this again in the future and hopefully it will work out better! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Amazing, and oh so easy to make! This was just delicious. I added some fresh chopped cilantro, a mix of red, yellow and green bell pepper and a bit of jalapeno for a terrific meal. I'll make this one again! Thanks for posting Mama! Made for ZWT 5 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Layered Ground Beef Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 654.7
     
    Calories from Fat 326
    49%
    Total Fat 36.2 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 16.9 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 124.2 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1187.8 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 44.3 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites