Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexican Frothy Hot Chocolate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Frothy Hot Chocolate

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2009

      Very, very yummy! I also used vanilla extract instead of the vanilla bean, and I don't think it hurt anything. This was lovely. Made for Comfort Cafe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Oh, yummy! I made this for our family game night tonight and it was really well received. My youngest son has already requested it (without the Kahlua) for breakfast, again, tomorrow morning! Thank you so much Rita. Yummy, yummy, yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I wasn't able to find the real Mexican chocolate in my local grocery stores this week, and substituted regular unsweetened chocolate. I added a pinch of cinnamon and some sugar. I did have a vanilla bean, and used it along with the Kahlua. I used the immersion blender to give it a good froth. It had a lovely rich color, but unfortunately, even with the sugar, it was too bitter for me. I will try it again when I'm able to get the Mexican chocolate. I'm sure that will make a difference. For ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Warms you from the inside out! I also used a few drops of vanilla in place of the bean. Drinking this brought back memories of my Nana. Thank you so much Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I've only one thing to say - I'll never again make hot chocolate any other way but this. This one's going into my Best of the Best cookbook. Thanks Rita, ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I used bittersweet chocolate as that is what's available here and a few drops of vanilla extract instead of the bean. The dash of cinnamon is the kicker in the recipe - and what you'd want in a Mexican hot chocolate drink, so definitely don't leave it out. This made a lovely foamy drink. I did froth this with my little frappe wand, which made blending the hot drink a breeze. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      This is so good. I love Mexican chocolate and used Ibarra brand. Mine was in 3.5-ounce disks, so I had to guess a bit what 2 ounces was. We tried this both with and without the Kahlua (for when the grandkids are here). Both versions are very good. My only problem with making this often is the price of vanilla beans, but it's a real treat when you want to splurge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      I selected this for one of the challenges on Zaar World Tour 2006 and am so glad that I did. It is a wonderful drink for a late night. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Frothy Hot Chocolate

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.0
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    43%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 120.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 19.6 g
    78%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites