Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexican Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2007

      I made this for a beachhouse camping trip and it was the most complimented dish of the weekend. If you're on the low budget use pork shoulder or butt instead of steak. I used that instead and it was still a winner. Instead of expensive salsa use much cheaper canned tomates then add fresh cilantro, jalapenos and onion which is what salsa pretty much is anyway. I also added 1 Tbsp of cumin and minced garlic but that's just me. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Believe it or not, after 10 hours of cooking the Mexican flavors were about gone. I ended up adding extra seasoning at the end. Next time I may use medium salsa instead of mild. Shredded the beef and used for 7 layer burritos (froze the rest for a tasty treat on a later date).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      This was soooo good. I used a rump roast which came out extremely tender. There was plenty of spicy gravy that I served over mashed potatoes. The family enjoyed it. I love roast cooked in a crock-pot and this was something a little different. Thanks Lorac.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      Excellent and easy to do. It made a ton of "salsa gravey" that will go well over pasta!! My guests just loved it and so did I. Thank you Lorac for another great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      We really enjoyed this recipe. I mixed the leftover meat and sauce with cooked rice, corn and wrapped it in a tortilla. Then topped the tortilla with more sauce and baked it. My husband loved it! Next time I'll make stuffed peppers with the leftovers. This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • We love Mexican so I wanted to try this recipe for pot roast it sounded so good. I threw it in the crock pot in the morning before I left for work and my DD had it ready to go when I got home. The taste was splendid and we really dug in and had a feast. Thanks for sharing Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      Absolutely Fantastic! This is a keeper in my cookbook. I put in mushrooms as well just to add a little something extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This was easy and had an excellent flavor. It's a keeper! I put sliced black olives in the mixture too. Sour Cream makes a good side dip for your "meat" chunks! This would probably be good with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      Outstanding! Outstanding!This was so easy to put together. I used a Top Round 5 pound beef roast and didn't double the recipe. The meat cooked up so tender. I removed the roast and shredded it and placed it back into the crock pot. I served this over garlic mashed potatoes. A true keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      This was very flavourful and we all enjoyed it. The meat was very tender. It was also very quick and easy to make. I'll definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      great taste and texture! There was definently some spice but it was complementary and didn't overwhelm the dish. Made this 2 weeks ago for my appreciative wife, we are reheating the leftovers for tonight to stuff in pitas with lettuce/tomatoes/etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2004

      So easy and delicious! I used a 3 pound rump roast, medium salsa and I added 1/2 an onion, sliced, and 3 cloves of garlic, sliced, to the mix. After it finished up, I shredded the meat, strained the gravy and I served it over white rice. The gravy was thick and rich with a little kick. The tasty leftovers are going to be transformed into burritoes for tomorrow's lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 771.7
     
    Calories from Fat 376
    48%
    Total Fat 41.8 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 255.1 mg
    85%
    Sodium 2013.5 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 74.8 g
    149%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites