Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexican Corn Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Corn Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2010

      I made a few changes and this was still very good--used half and half rather than cream and had no fresh tomatoes so used 2 tablespoons of tomato paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I am a total soup person. I want soup ALL of the time, regardless of the weather. I thought this was REALLY good. It was simple to make and could easily pass off as something that took you a lot of time and labor to prepare. My BF loved it, my 9 yr. old son said is was heaven in a bowl, lol! I used frozen corn as I didn't want to waste what I had on hand but next time I will use fresh since this is what I would prefer. I omitted the bacon and instead sauteed the garlic and onion with some southwest chicken chunks from Tyson. Otherwise made exactly as written with parsley, queso fresco and avocado chunks...THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This was good. I used two cans of corn, which were just at 3 cups. I only used 2 cups of chicken broth, but I think this was enough. I also added two cubed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Delicious! I made this for guests along with Mexican layer dip and bean burritos, and it was a huge hit, even with the kids! I'll use more bacon next time, and I doubled the garlic content, but aside from that, it's perfect. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      This was fabulous. I made it for our dinner last night, using low fat thickened cream. I served with bacon & feta cheese. Enjoyed by all. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Great Soup!!!!! I didn't use the bacon but added a chipotle dried gound pepper. I served it with feta cheese cilantro and corn tortilla strips. There was not even a drop left over will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      This soup is where it's at! Easy to make and delicious. I wasn't sure how well the bacon would go over, but I was pleasantly surprised. The consistency is somewhere around a thicker, creamier broth, but not quite a chowder. Great appearance, and absolutely packed with flavor. We went the cilantro route which I highly recommend and omitted the queso fresco and tortilla chips and it was still awesome... Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Soup is one of my favorite types of food and this one will be added to the keeper folder! I really enjoyed the flavor and it was easy to make. I used feta cheese and left out the cilantro as DH doesn't like it (sprinkled some on mine after it was done). I had to sub evaporated milk for the heavy cream and that worked out fine. I also added a little leftover grilled chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. We ate ours with tortilla chips. I simmered for about an hour and that was fine. Tastes even better the next day. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      made this and was very nervous about how it would go over. from the picture, it looked like something i would love, but thought my husband would put his nose up at. i tasted it midway through and thought that it wasn't very good, but when all was said and done, YUMMY! We served it with a dollop of sour cream, crumbled bacon, and crumbled nacho chips. It was extremely similar to tortilla soup without the chicken. Even my picky 16 yr old son ate it right up. Great recipe. i used frozen corn and it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      I made this vegetarian style with vegetable broth and the bacon on the side for whoever wanted it. Very good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      My Goodness! Pure heaven! So smooth and creamy :-) Very soothing, I would call this a comfort food. I only added a little bit of cayenne pepper (about 1/4 tsp) I used both flat-leaf parsley and cilantro, and queso fresco for my cheese. I sprinkled bacon, queso fresco, and extra cilantro over the top. I love it so much I am eating it and reviewing it at the same time!! I couldn't wait until I finished it to review it :yummy: :update: I tried Feta this time because I didn't have Queso Fresco it was every bit as good! Mmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Being the soup person that I am, I saw the photo of this in the thread that Teddy's Mommy started, and just had to make it -- sooo good! I didn't have any fresh corn, so I used frozen Southwestern corn (the one with bits of red and green peppers and onion). I didn't have any parsley, but I added lots of cilantro. The ingredient list only calls for 2 cups of broth, but the directions indicate that you need 4 cups total (two with the pureed corn, two added later). I followed the instructions with the 4 cups, but the two cups added later were tomato-chipotle flavor rather than the chicken. I also tossed in some leftover chopped turkey that I wanted to use up (that way, DH couldn't complain, "what, no meat?"). I added the heavy cream, too, but I think the soup would be just as good without it. I topped each serving with some crumbled tortilla chips, the crumbled bacon, a bit of queso fresco and some chopped avocado. Definite hit, thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Corn Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.7
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    62%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 56.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 980.5 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    queso fresco

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites