Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexican Ceviche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Ceviche

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2010

      Here in Nova Scotia, we have shrimp on a regular basis....when I was first taught to make any Ceviche...you were to cover the shellfish with lime and leave is on for no longer than half an hour as longer could cause the shrimp to become tough and possibly ruining your dish. Any shellfish..shrimp, scallops, even clams, etc. can be "cooked" this way...super simple and delicious. AlLWAYS use lime not lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      Out of this world! My wife and I really enjoyed this. We ate it with some baked corn chips, and both went back for seconds. We made it with half sea bass, and half halibut, and used fresh oregano. Yum! This is definitely something to repeat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Dee-lish! I used a Red Snapper, Shrimp and Bay Scallops combo, but instead of putting the jalapenos in the ceviche, I bought the whole canned jalapenos that come with carrots in the can. Halved and hollowed out the jalapenos and stuffed the them with the ceviche! WOW, it was good. Someone ate a carrot and started to cry, those babies are hotter than the jalapenos!
      TIP: For those of you who touch the jalapenos with your bare hands, wash wth Dawn dish detergent or scrub with lemon juice, either takes all the oil from the jalapenos off your skin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      the fish only needs to cook for 45 minutes
      and don't dare us juice
      squeeze the limes fresh yourself
      then check it out by making sure all the fish is hard
      if not add more lime
      then squueze all the lime out by rolling the fish into little balls
      then add the rest of the tomatoes onions etc
      but all the lime needs to out of the fish before mixing
      sorry bergy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      This recipe is worth 10 million stars. My husband and I love seviche/ceviche and your recipe has us captivated. I used 5 large limes which provided plenty of juice. I used a mixture of red snapper and sea bass. Two jalapenos made it plenty hot. I served it on lettuce lined plates and it was a perfect supper for us. Bless you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Just what a ceviche should be...light, refreshing, and packed with flavor! I opted for sea bass, used only cilantro (no parsley), only one jalapeno, and no Tabasco, but I added a couple teaspoons of Thai chili-garlic sauce, which added a lot of heat, garlic, and some extra flavor. Avocado was a definite enhancement, but I did not venture to try the olives. It also held up surprisingly well in the refrigerator overnight. Will definitely use this recipe again and experiment further.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      I first had ceviche at a friend's BBQ last summer. I loved it, but forgot all about it until I came across this recipe. I'm really glad I did - that was really good. It wasn't *quite* as good as I remembered it - thus 4 stars instead of 5, but I'm not sure what it was missing. In any case, this was really tasty, and I'll definately be making it again. A few notes -- I served it on the side of a marinated steak with brown rice. Although the rice was supposed to go with the steak, it was great with the ceviche as well. It really mellowed the flavors a bit. Also, for me, the prep time was a bit longer than 20 minutes. With all the chopping, plus de-skinning and dicing the fish, and juicing the limes, I'd say it was closer to 35 minutes. But well worth it - this was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      I would not recommend using parsley in place of cilantro.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Excellent! I added Red Onions and Garlic to mine and omitted the vinegar. I used Striped Bass!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      I made this for my girlfriend's sister's bridal shower. It was a giant success. I did only use one jalapeno and omitted the vinegar. Instead of just fish, I added a pound of shrimp and used half a pound of fish. I also used just cilantro which seemed to be a wise and popular decision. This will be added to my arsenal. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Holy mother of God, I should have worn plastic gloves when chopping the jalapeño as suggested in other reviews. I chopped them first (and washed my hands), then the bell pepper, then the onion. When the onion made me cry I instinctively wiped my eyes. I thought it would be ok since I washed my hands. WRONG! Every time I opened my eyes it felt like a wet mist was hitting my eyeballs. I thought I had onion juice on my eyelashes, or something. Then the stinging set in. My nose drained like crazy. My husband had to get me an icepack while I sat on the kitchen floor freaking out. I just got out of a cold shower. It was the most beautiful shower in the whole wide world. I'll let you know if this ceviche is worth it. To be continued...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I made this with ground tilapia that I picked up at a local Hispanic market. The tilapia had a strong, earthy taste that did not complement the dish. However, I tried the leftovers after sitting in the fridge overnight and the flavors had melded very nicely. The earthy taste was gone and it was delicious. I followed the basic recipe pretty closely except I didn't use bell pepper because I didn't have any, and I added a few cloves of garlic, which I will definitely do next time too. I also didn't have avocado but will try it that way next time. I can only imagine how much more tasty it will make this dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Wow! What a great recipe! When I have had it in Mexico, it always had both garlic and jalopenas, so I added 4 cloves of garlic and 1 jalopena finely diced. My guests had never heard of it and all asked for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Anyone who rated this less than 5 stars must have done something wrong. You have to use a FIRM fish, I used Chilean sea bass and patted it dry with a paper towel. I marinated it in a glass pyrex loaf dish, covered it with plastic wrap and set it in the fridge for 8 hours, stirring a few times. I drained it and added the rest of the ingredients (adding a bit more salt and using only 1 jalapeño for this 1st time) then served it in margarita glasses topped with chunks of avocado. It was a BIG hit, gone in literally minutes! I am Mexican-American so I KNOW MY CEVICHE. My in-laws are also missionaries in Guatemala. Whenever we visit the first thing we do is head to a cevicheria where they have several varieties of ceviches from different Latin countries. They often use shark; firm, white, boneless meat. I haven't been able to find it though. It's served in restaurants here (Houston) but it's 1.EXPENSIVE ($8 for 1/3 cup) and 2.they skimp on the fish. The Chilean sea bass was pricey ($20/lb.) but it was the only suggested fish I could find and is still cheaper than the restaurants. I'll try adding a bit more fish (or shrimp) next time, maybe another 1/4lb., but the flavor of this was excellent! Thank you, thank you Bergy!!!! P.S. I saw someone use salmon, I do NOT recommend this fish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      YUMMY! I made it for our family's cinco de mayo dinner. There were 15 people, but I only doubled it because I figured the kids wouldn't eat it and we'd just use it as a dip for tortilla chips! OOPS...I should have doubled my double batch! :-) I think my father in law ate 3 bowls full and was grumpy when mother in law cut him off! :-) This is gonna be a definite regular in our family!!! I did it as written(using 1 pound of scallops and 1 pound of shrimp) except I added a chopped cucumber and omitted the hot sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Used 1/2 lb. each of sole and jumbo scallops. Delicious! But I'm curious about others' cooking time - mine cooked in 90 minutes (stirred twice; fish only). I added remaining ingredients (except for olives, lettuce, avo) and let sit for another hour chilled. 2 japalpeno peppers were perfect (reminder that de-seeding w/o protection = stinging fingers). Perfect way to use heirloom tomatoes during summer months! Agree w/poster who said that olives and avos were NOT optional!!! Served in martini glasses sans lettuce leaves 6 hours later.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      If you dont want mushy shrimp, after your shrimp has finished marinating you must toss it with the vegtables and refrigerate for atleast 4 hours...also add cucumber, celery, CILANTRO, tomato, and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      Fantastic. Didn't really do much measuring, chopped up by volumes equal parts onion, cilantro, sweet pepper, and then added an habenero (finely chopped). Garlic suggestion from these reviews was also great idea. Skipped the vinegar, oregano (forgot it), and tabasco (really?). Used ono(wahoo) about 2 days after being caught. Man, the flavors really worked and brought me right back to the beach in Mex. Thanks for posting this one, it hit the spot.<br/><br/>Half an hour and the fish was "cooked". I like fish raw so I didn't sweat it but there is no way you need to do this overnight. I bet in a Mexican kitchen they toss in the fish right after they finish prepping the rest of the dish. I would.<br/><br/>I'd also disagree that all the lime needs to be out of the fish before mixing, just poor of the extra and shoot, it was fantastic.<br/><br/>I would also agree with the reviewer that said stick to cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      The recipe is fantastic...a hit at every party I bring it to. I use tuna, shrimp and bay scallops. I do par boil the shrimp and bay scallops. I use bay scallops because they are the perfect size without cutting them. I omit the oregano. Green bell pepper is too strong for me so I use yellow bell which also adds a beautiful color against the green cilantro and red tomato. Also use red onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      This recipe was great! We used cod and pre-cooked shrimp. We put the cod into the lime juice, but only for 2 hours, came out perfect. We added the shrimp into the whole mix as-is, no lime juice marinade. We also added a couple cloves of garlic and used fresh cilantro and parsley. We paired it with some lime-cilantro rice and it was scrumptious, we all raved! Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Ceviche

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    11%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 68.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 247.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 27.3 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes