53 Reviews

Here in Nova Scotia, we have shrimp on a regular basis....when I was first taught to make any Ceviche...you were to cover the shellfish with lime and leave is on for no longer than half an hour as longer could cause the shrimp to become tough and possibly ruining your dish. Any shellfish..shrimp, scallops, even clams, etc. can be "cooked" this way...super simple and delicious. AlLWAYS use lime not lemon juice.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'Laynie August 11, 2010

Out of this world! My wife and I really enjoyed this. We ate it with some baked corn chips, and both went back for seconds. We made it with half sea bass, and half halibut, and used fresh oregano. Yum! This is definitely something to repeat!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff12 June 30, 2002

Dee-lish! I used a Red Snapper, Shrimp and Bay Scallops combo, but instead of putting the jalapenos in the ceviche, I bought the whole canned jalapenos that come with carrots in the can. Halved and hollowed out the jalapenos and stuffed the them with the ceviche! WOW, it was good. Someone ate a carrot and started to cry, those babies are hotter than the jalapenos!
TIP: For those of you who touch the jalapenos with your bare hands, wash wth Dawn dish detergent or scrub with lemon juice, either takes all the oil from the jalapenos off your skin.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meblondie138 August 11, 2010

the fish only needs to cook for 45 minutes
and don't dare us juice
squeeze the limes fresh yourself
then check it out by making sure all the fish is hard
if not add more lime
then squueze all the lime out by rolling the fish into little balls
then add the rest of the tomatoes onions etc
but all the lime needs to out of the fish before mixing
sorry bergy...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gringosinmexico June 11, 2011

Just what a ceviche should be...light, refreshing, and packed with flavor! I opted for sea bass, used only cilantro (no parsley), only one jalapeno, and no Tabasco, but I added a couple teaspoons of Thai chili-garlic sauce, which added a lot of heat, garlic, and some extra flavor. Avocado was a definite enhancement, but I did not venture to try the olives. It also held up surprisingly well in the refrigerator overnight. Will definitely use this recipe again and experiment further.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajstrader May 24, 2010

This recipe is worth 10 million stars. My husband and I love seviche/ceviche and your recipe has us captivated. I used 5 large limes which provided plenty of juice. I used a mixture of red snapper and sea bass. Two jalapenos made it plenty hot. I served it on lettuce lined plates and it was a perfect supper for us. Bless you for sharing your recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 02, 2003

I first had ceviche at a friend's BBQ last summer. I loved it, but forgot all about it until I came across this recipe. I'm really glad I did - that was really good. It wasn't *quite* as good as I remembered it - thus 4 stars instead of 5, but I'm not sure what it was missing. In any case, this was really tasty, and I'll definately be making it again. A few notes -- I served it on the side of a marinated steak with brown rice. Although the rice was supposed to go with the steak, it was great with the ceviche as well. It really mellowed the flavors a bit. Also, for me, the prep time was a bit longer than 20 minutes. With all the chopping, plus de-skinning and dicing the fish, and juicing the limes, I'd say it was closer to 35 minutes. But well worth it - this was great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
federico April 08, 2004

I would not recommend using parsley in place of cilantro.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shofoods March 09, 2013

Excellent! I added Red Onions and Garlic to mine and omitted the vinegar. I used Striped Bass!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C Harris July 08, 2010

I made this for my girlfriend's sister's bridal shower. It was a giant success. I did only use one jalapeno and omitted the vinegar. Instead of just fish, I added a pound of shrimp and used half a pound of fish. I also used just cilantro which seemed to be a wise and popular decision. This will be added to my arsenal. Great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reefdiver March 24, 2010
Mexican Ceviche