Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexicali Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexicali Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2002

      What a neat recipe! The only thing I did differently was to cook the weiners on the bbq, rather than fry them. I typically do weiners wrapped up in Pillsbury Crescent Rolls when I want to do something different with them, but I decided to try this for lunch today in honour of the Zaar Mexicana Cook-A-Thon and I'm glad I did. They're easy, tasty, and my family woofed them down; my teenage son even asked that I do them again :-) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      DH & I loved them! I used Nathans "Bigger-Than-The-Bun" Franks, Mission medium soft flour tortillas, 4-cheese Mexican blend, and added sauteed chopped onions. I didn't fry the tortillas - just sprayed both sides with butter-flavor cooking spray, put the franks in them, then onions, then cheese. I rolled them up and stuck a toothpick in each to secure, sprinkled with a tad more cheese, then baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. I removed the toothpicks, garnished with salsa and served with sides of beans and slaw. Thanks Lori for a delicious, easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      What a unique quick dinner! I had some leftover pinto beans and two tamales that we had with these. I was thinking of lots of variations lol! Next time I will crumble some cooked bacon inside the tortilla too! Thank you for a fun dinner on a boring Monday evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      this was a good recipe, and easy to make I did quick fry my tortillas, they were falling apart because they were previously frozen! I used chedder and monteray jack for the cheese my kids liked them and had fum making it with me im just not sure we will ever make it again so thats why I couldnt give 5 stars.. I still like pigs in a blanket better although I think the kids might lean more towards this dish..thanks for the recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I followed Wiggies lead with Hot Italian Sausage and sauteed onions with Pepperjack Cheese. Wow weeeee were they spicy and good. We topped with salsa. Yum to the tum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I cooked Turkey Sausage on the grill (to cut some calories) and used whole wheat tortillas instead of the corn. Topped with Pepper Jack Cheese and we were ready to go! Everyone enjoyed these for a change of pace. I dipped mine in ketchup. Very tasty! I might try some sauteed onions on mine next time, and there WILL be a next time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      What an easy treat! I loved it. Made it on my indoor grill.. Grilled the sausags (I used smoked spicy) fried the tortillas, added cheese & wrapped the dogs put on grill lid closed for apprx 2 minutes & wow they were delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      I can't believe it! I use to wrap the corn tortilla around the hot dog...fry...then dip them in guacamole!! LOVE THEM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      Yummy, quick meal. We really enjoyed it. I used sharp cheddar cheese and the combination was great. We enjoyed the crispness of the tortilla shell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      These dogs were good!!! I needed a hurry up, light meal for my DH and his friend, so I made these with some beans on the side. They really liked them alot....I did too. They were so easy to prepare and were really tasty. Thanks Lori

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexicali Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 458.5
     
    Calories from Fat 293
    64%
    Total Fat 32.6 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 62.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1135.3 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites