10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a neat recipe! The only thing I did differently was to cook the weiners on the bbq, rather than fry them. I typically do weiners wrapped up in Pillsbury Crescent Rolls when I want to do something different with them, but I decided to try this for lunch today in honour of the Zaar Mexicana Cook-A-Thon and I'm glad I did. They're easy, tasty, and my family woofed them down; my teenage son even asked that I do them again :-) Thanks for sharing!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie May 06, 2002

DH & I loved them! I used Nathans "Bigger-Than-The-Bun" Franks, Mission medium soft flour tortillas, 4-cheese Mexican blend, and added sauteed chopped onions. I didn't fry the tortillas - just sprayed both sides with butter-flavor cooking spray, put the franks in them, then onions, then cheese. I rolled them up and stuck a toothpick in each to secure, sprinkled with a tad more cheese, then baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. I removed the toothpicks, garnished with salsa and served with sides of beans and slaw. Thanks Lori for a delicious, easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beach Bumette May 17, 2012

What a unique quick dinner! I had some leftover pinto beans and two tamales that we had with these. I was thinking of lots of variations lol! Next time I will crumble some cooked bacon inside the tortilla too! Thank you for a fun dinner on a boring Monday evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Brad January 09, 2012

this was a good recipe, and easy to make I did quick fry my tortillas, they were falling apart because they were previously frozen! I used chedder and monteray jack for the cheese my kids liked them and had fum making it with me im just not sure we will ever make it again so thats why I couldnt give 5 stars.. I still like pigs in a blanket better although I think the kids might lean more towards this dish..thanks for the recipe..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissaroo June 21, 2010

I followed Wiggies lead with Hot Italian Sausage and sauteed onions with Pepperjack Cheese. Wow weeeee were they spicy and good. We topped with salsa. Yum to the tum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriendlyChefy September 18, 2008

I cooked Turkey Sausage on the grill (to cut some calories) and used whole wheat tortillas instead of the corn. Topped with Pepper Jack Cheese and we were ready to go! Everyone enjoyed these for a change of pace. I dipped mine in ketchup. Very tasty! I might try some sauteed onions on mine next time, and there WILL be a next time :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiggiesStickeyRibs September 05, 2008

What an easy treat! I loved it. Made it on my indoor grill.. Grilled the sausags (I used smoked spicy) fried the tortillas, added cheese & wrapped the dogs put on grill lid closed for apprx 2 minutes & wow they were delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 20, 2008

I can't believe it! I use to wrap the corn tortilla around the hot dog...fry...then dip them in guacamole!! LOVE THEM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP April 17, 2005

Yummy, quick meal. We really enjoyed it. I used sharp cheddar cheese and the combination was great. We enjoyed the crispness of the tortilla shell.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*axxo* April 15, 2005

These dogs were good!!! I needed a hurry up, light meal for my DH and his friend, so I made these with some beans on the side. They really liked them alot....I did too. They were so easy to prepare and were really tasty. Thanks Lori

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat December 18, 2003
Mexicali Hot Dogs