Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Mexi Cashews Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexi Cashews

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2010

      I wasn't sure whether to use raw or roasted cashews, so I used raw. They turned out really well. They don't really crunch up until they have cooled. I thought I had done something wrong. I made them for a birthday gift for my dad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      these were an awesome addition to my super bowl menu!! the only changes i made were to double the recipe, use a delux mixed nut blend, use a tad less sugar and added some lime juice! chili lime nuts!! yum!! everyone really loved these. thanks for posting, will make again and again for parties where drinking is involved!!! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I have made this recipe several times now and I've used peanuts, cashews and pistachios. They are all great. I also added 1 tsp of lime juice to the egg white (instead of water) for more tang. I also used 2 tsp chili powder (New Mexico Hot Chili powder) and increased the cayenne pepper to 1 tsp. We like them just a little kickier! These are fantastic whatever nut you decide to use. UPDATE: (8/08) I made these again with peanuts recently and instead of the cayanne pepper I used 1/2 tsp ground Chipotle Chile Pepper - fantastic!!! Very smoky flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Good snack. I have enjoyed them despite an occcasional need for a Tums ;). I think when I make them again I may have to use less cayenne and more salt to tweak for our personal preference. The lime juice sounds good too. This flexible recipe is very easy to prepare. Perhaps almonds next time with a bit more sugar, hmmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Made this as nibbles for a dinner party, and everyone loved them. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      Very tasty- used this for our Mardi Gras party. My 9 year old did all the measuring and mixing, as she is quickly becoming a "chef". My husband loved the taste, as did the guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      delicious - not what i was expecting at all, better in fact!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      Great!! Made as directed with no subs. Worked even for those who aren't into spicy. Thanks, Gay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Well, I made these and as they were cooling, I had to chase off DH several times. He kept eating them and eating them and eating them. I begged him to save a few for the guests. He did finally manage to control himself but does love these. The prep and cooking were easy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Very good mix of flavours with a slow burn heat. I made them as part of my gift hampers for Christmas. Had to keep chasing my husband out of the kitchen because of too much sampling:) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      We liked the flavor of these cashews. They had a little heat but not overly hot. They were easy to make. Thanks Gay Gilmore. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      Thanks for sharing this great recipe Gay! Great flavours and so easy. I only had about 2 cups of cashews but still used all the spices as directed and it worked great. The only problem with this recipe is that it makes nowhere near 24 servings, at least not if I'm around! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      These are quite good! I made these along with another nut mix that uses mostly pecans and both were quite popular. I like that these use egg white rather than oil as an spice adhesive because it is much lower in fat, although it provides a slightly different texture than those recipes using oil. Still great all around, easy to prepare and transport to other places- this will be another recipe I enjoy bringing to get togethers as well as giving as food gifts. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      Delicious, I made the recipe as stated. Great flavours and very moreish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      Yummy! I adjusted the spices to my taste and it was a great snack for me and my fiance. I think I'm going to have to make these on a weekly basis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      What an addictive treat!! I bought canned cashews to use for this recipe & didn't think to look at the cans before using them. Next time I will cut back on the salt as the canned cashews were already salted but the flavor is incredible. I loved the flavor & the slight heat. This recipe is a definite keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      I used Walnuts (had a huge supply on hand) and they are excellent. I think Pecans would work too. Be careful when you are roasting them they burn easily. 17 minutes was all it took for this lot. Thanks Gay for an easy way to have something just a little different

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexi Cashews

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    70%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 240.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes