11 Reviews

These were very good and easy to make. The big difference this time was using coconut oil for shortening. Great flavor with the coconut oil! It was too dark to take any decent photos of the tortillas however. Served with the requisite beans and rice of course! Prepared for Best of 2014. Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 05, 2015

Good and easy. I tried to make them with gluten free flour and the consistency wasn't quite right and I couldn't get them in a good circle but they tasted great. Made quesadillas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc January 29, 2015

I was surprised at how easy these were to make...the hubby raved about them...I cut the recipe in half for the two of us and made 5 nice tortillas...I will be making these again...made for..."For your consideration" tag game...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas October 22, 2014

Day by day I'm amazed by the new things I learn to make on the zaar. Without it I wonder what was I going to eat? Great recipe,especially for someone who never made it before. I left it to rest for 30 minutes and I remembered after 3 hours. The hardest part is to make them round. I cut mine with the lid of a plastic container,but still I couldn't manage a perfect circle. DD liked it so much,she forgot to eat her lunch.I was really missing quesadillas.I'll be making a lot of Mexican dishes now.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia February 06, 2010

These were very good but they didn't look so good. They didn't look like the ones in the photos and I couldn't get them to get bigger than 8", even though I was making the 10" ones. I would love to know what to do about that, because I would really like to make them a little better. I have to give them 5 stars though for taste and they were awesome with the enchilada recipe that I made. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif May 11, 2009

I was making Crock Pot Shredded Beef Burritos on 4/5/09 and needed some tortillas and remembered seeing this recipe. So, I decided to give it a try. And I'm very glad I did :). Even though the directions are a little long, it was a very easy recipe to make.I did however have a bit of trouble getting them in perfect circle, but that won't stop me from making them again. :). I don't use tortillas that often, but when I do this is what will be used. Thanks so much for posting and,"Keep Smiling :)"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � April 06, 2009

Made these tortillas almost 10 days ago & totally forgot to post the review! We use tortillas a lot around here, so I found this recipe to be ABSOLUTELY GREAT both for taste & for savings in the wallet! Will be making these gems often ~ Many thanks for a great recipe keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my Vegetarian partners in the current Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 31, 2009

I really went outside my comfort zone here. Breads, pies, tortillas and most baking are not for me. But boy am I glad I tried your recipe. The ingredients are simple and instructions are clear. Thank you. Not only are these saving us money, but they taste soooo much better than store bought. I never realized store bought tasted so stale until I tried fresh. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I'll definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef January 25, 2009

Great recipe that produced a nice tortilla. The 'resting' is key here! Great directions and great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) December 19, 2008

Merci Karen for saving my pennies too! I can buy tortillas in France, but they are VERY expensive and these were 100% better IMO!! The recipe was easy to follow and although they take some time to make - I made myself a cuppa and put on my favourite music - c'est parfait! I used a mix of wholemeal/wholewheat flour with white flour, about 3/4 white to 1/4 wholemeal. I managed to get 10 tortillas out of this mix - I have put 8 in the freezer and plan to use 2 later on today! A great find, along with your refried beans, I am set up for Mexian recipes now! Made for Aussie/Kiwi Swap #20 - a KEEPER! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart September 22, 2008
Made 'em Myself Tortillas