Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Larry's Black Bean Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Larry's Black Bean Tacos

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2003

      These were quick, easy, and great for a mid-week meal. For the stewed tomatoes, I opted for the kind with garlic in them. I used soft tortillas to serve it in along with some shredded cheese and sour cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      We enjoyed these tasty tacos. I liked that it made 1 lb of meat go a lot further. Thank you and Larry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Naner, this saw a really nice basic recipe... I made it exactly as directed, though found it really quite bland. I did not know if I was to drain the beans or not, same with the tomatoes, I did find it a bit loose for tacos but it could be really tasty if I add spices and let it simmer longer. Thank you for posting this I will use it again, with a few changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      I didn't expect this to be so satisfying. Drained the beans, warmed up the tortillas I filled. Great quick "I hate cooking" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      If I could give it ten stars, I would seriously. I've never cooked mexican before in my life because it's not really a big cuisine here unfortunately (Tacobell used to have outlets across the country and now it's left with only two standing) so yeah I've missed eating out at Tacobell. I used only one can of black beans because my family prefers meat. I think 1 can is sufficient, good enough for the flavour and great for the bite. I also minced two cloves of garlic and chopped up an onion to give it more of a juicy, aromatic bite. Other than that, I followed true to the recipe. The recipe does not mention whether to drain the beans/tomatoes so I followed my gut and drained the beans but I didn't drain the stewed tomatoes, just poured the whole can in. True enough, the remaining tomato juices provided enough moisture for the beef. Wonderful recipe, one that I would make again and again and again! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I just made this for dinner and it was a hit! I added a little bit of Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle seasoning for a little extra zip. I served it in a flour tortilla, like a burrito, with sour cream, lettuce, salsa, pickled jalepeno and red onion. I know all the extras add on to the time, but it's worth it. I will be making this again but I may cut it in half since it was really enough to feed at least 6 maybe 8. Thank you for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made this tonight for my 2yo and myself - so fast & easy! I changed it slightly by adding 1 c raw rice & 3 c water along with the rinsed beans & tomatoes - we ate it with lots of sour cream & spoons! :) Much easier for DD to eat that way, altho it still would have been wonderful on tortillas with the rice. I also only used 1/2# beef (all I had on hand) and doubled the taco seasoning (Taco Seasoning Mix) for extra flavoring. It was very good, I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I loved this! Simple yet very tasty. It was super easy to make and my kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      We liked this! I only used 1 can of black beans, and that was enough. I cooked the meat and drained it and then added the taco seasoning along with the tomatoes, undrained. Rinsed and drained the black beans and let it all simmer for 10 minutes or so. This was good with tortillas, but we liked it even better when scooped up with chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I liked the addition of the black beans. It seemed a little dry when I drained the beans so next time I will leave some of the liquid in. Thanks Naner, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      This turned out pretty well, despite the basic directions. It wasn't clear whether I should drain & rinse the beans (I did), drain the tomatoes (did that too), or drain the meat after cooking (I didn't do that - I was afraid I might lose some of the seasoning). I also thought there were too many beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      Love it! What a nice variation on tacos & so easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      This is an excellent flavor combinations. I used petite diced tomatoes with green chilies added instead of the plain stewed tomatoes. We served it up on flour tortillas with sour cream, shredded lettuce and cheese. The beans provide a little refried bean flavor without the extra fat. I did rinse the beans before using them to reduce the sodium content. This would also be an excellent enchilada filling. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      Very easy and very tasty! I was half expecting my husband and son to make irritating comments about the beans, but they both loved the addition of them. Who would've thought! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      So easy and so good. I did "doctor" it up by adding some onion, garlic and tabasco. Also stuffed the tortilla with cheese and cilantro. Made a great meal with a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      These were so simple and yummy! My husband loved them... I just couldn't tell him that it was soooo easy! I like to bring this to work along with a couple of tortillas and heat it up for lunch. Thanks, Naner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      Very good! I used Rotel tomatoes (added just a bit of cumin) and served it like chili with tostidos white corn chips and sour cream on top. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      This recipe was great! I used rotel with green chilies in place of the stewed tomatoes, because we like things spicier. I also used this as a dip with tortilla chips. Very good, and my kids called it taco chili because of the consistancy. Thanks alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • I didn't setout to change your recipe, Nanerpie, but when I discovered that my cupboards had every other type of canned beans, but black--and I'd already started to cook the meat--I had to do something quick! I substituted the black beans with 1 can of Pinto beans and 1 can of Navy beans. Since my beans were more bland than the black ones would have been, I also added an extra tablespoon of red chile powder and 1/2 tsp. cumin to the mixture. Because the end result was more soupy than I thought it would be, I served some of it on top of a large, warmed white flour tortilla as an "open-faced" burrito. I sprinkled some bits of cheddar and Velveeta cheese over its top--then popped it into the microwave oven for 1 minute, or until the chess had melted. My husband and I each had one of these, along with a salad and some canned corn for our dinner tonight. Next time I'll try this with some grated Monterey Jack cheese on top. Very quick and very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      Great simple recipe! We served it wrapped in a flour tortilla plain and loved it. I had lettuce, sour cream and other toppings available but we liked them as is. The side dish I made Mexican Rice #25517. The two together were great. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Larry's Black Bean Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 818.1
     
    Calories from Fat 277
    33%
    Total Fat 30.7 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1428.7 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.6 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 36.5 g
    73%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black beans

    taco seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites