Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Hot Tamale Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Tamale Casserole

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      This was very very good. Yes it is a little work, but is very much worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      Made this last night for dinner. Excellent flavor. I was hesitant to use a whole tablespoon of cumin, but went ahead and wasn't at all sorry...it was just perfect. The last part of the recipe says to cook in a 350 degree oven, even though previously we are instructed to preheat to 450 degrees. Since most cornbreads are baked at 450 degrees I stuck with that and in 25 minutes the casserole was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing, I will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      DELICIOUS! I've liked this dish from the first time I've tried it and as I've play with to tickle my particular taste, it keeps getting better. After 4-5 attempts at this recipe this is what I've come up with, so far. I use peeled, chopped, well drained, fresh Tomatoes, I have to help my friends get rid of the pesky things, you know. I shred some of Miss Annie's Amazing Beef #46982 instead of using ground beef. The first time, I didn't have any Green Olives but the Black ones seemed to work just fine. I use whole Cummin Seeds, whole Allspice, And whole Chipotle Chili Powder, which I grind just before use. Fresh ground spices are lightyears better than the stuff that's been sitting around on a supermarket shelf for months.(www.worldspice.com has a variety of whole chili powders.) All of this was a bit thin so I simmered and stirred, stirred and simmered 'til it thickened nicely. For the topping I cut the Baking Powder to 1 teaspoon to make it a little less light and airy. I sub. Masa Harina for the corn meal to give it more of a true tamale flavor. For our Thursday night poker game this is often asked for ahead of time by my guests. Is it a bit of a hassle to make? Yes, a bit. Is it worth the hassle? You're damned straight! Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      This was good. We especially liked the cornbread topping. I baked the casserole for 25 minutes and the topping was done. I used one jalepeno in the filling and 1/2 of a jalepeno in the topping and it turned out fairly mild. My DS kept telling me how good this was and had thirds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      It tasted like a very good pizza burger! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Very good, but very salty. Next time I will cut down on the salt. I followed your recipe, except I added just a little cinnamon in lieu of the allspice (I didn't have any) and no hot sauce and just 2 jalapenos. The cornbread topping was nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      So good! I halved the recipe and it fit perfectly into a 8x8 pyrex (though it could have probably used the full amount of topping for half the meat). Super tasty - might even make just the meat or just the cornbread in the future too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

    • on May 13, 2005

      This was a great dish and the recipe is very forgiving of any needed or desired changes, it becomes very much your own original creation. I just moved across country, so I needed to make a few substitutions. I added a can of partially drained black beans in place of some of the meat and used a half a cup of salsa in place of tomato paste and some of the cumin. I did not have any chiles on hand, nor hot pepper sauce, so in the meat mixture I used what I had on hand, about one teaspoon of red chile flakes and several packets of Taco Bell Fire Sauce. Yes, those little packets with take out food come in handy, lol. I used a scant 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon and one clove stem, crushed, in place of the allspice. Last substitution I made was black olives for the green. I think maybe next time I will put a layer of cheese over the meat mixture, before topping it with cornmeal batter. It was great served with sour cream, green onions and some extra olives. This would be great to double and put in the freezer, too, for an easy meal during the week. Great for potlucks, too. Thanx, Bergy, for the recipe, this is no a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      Excellent recipe! I used all 3 jalapenos and didn't find it overly spicy. This does have a good tamale taste except the texture of the topping doesn't have that steamy dense texture that some tamales have, but more light. I thought the olives added an interesting flavor, perhaps a little bit Cuban? Also, the casserole wasn't difficult to make at all, but went together nicely. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Tamale Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.9
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    42%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 90.0 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1015.4 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 23.1 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes