Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Hot Mexican Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Mexican Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2001

      excellent, cooked in cast iron skillet and served with Nanny's tomato soup #11121. very moist. Didn't have green onions so I used the regular white onion, but the green would have made it better looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Holy wow! I have hot pay dirt with this recipe. I subbed masa harina for the regular cornmeal and didn't add the cheddar or green onions, which were not missed at all. Such an incredible recipe!! It almost tastes like a creamy tamale!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      this cornbread was very moist & had a great flavor. make sure the vegetables are chopped very thin & don't leave out the sweet milk...delicious. i did have to let it cook an extra 5-8 min. bc it was not quite done at 40 min. topped off with chili...perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      EASY AND YUMMY! I was going to post my mom's classic Mexican Cornbread recipe, but there are already so many of them and this is so close to hers(no milk, 1 medium onion chopped vs green onion) that I decided to just go ahed and rate this one. Mom made this for many years and took it to many church pot lucks before the days when Mexican food was so widespread and our town didn't even have a Taco Bell much less a Mexican restaurant and we had yet to discover joys fajitas, margaritas, burritos, nachos or green chile sauce! Try this cornbread Chili Sundae-style in a bowl with chili over the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Bob, thnx for posting such a tasty cornbread. Of course, buying the jalapeno peppers for this dish made me a laughing stock. I live in New Mexico and when I buy only 1 or 2 peppers at the store, they look at me as though I am crazy. I better get used to looking crazy, because we will have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Been looking for a good Mexican Cornbread,...thank you for sharing.. btw...Spring onions are the same as green onions :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      Very yummy! WE had company over for dinner tonight and your cornbread was a real hit. This will certainly be a keeper. thanks for sharing . Maryanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      Made my 3rd batch in 3 days, guess I enjoyed it huh. Thanks for posting Bob, wonderfull hot Mexican cornbread, and i have a new iron skillet also. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Great side dish for Bev's Mexican Meatball soup recipe 20998. I made these in a muffin tin and it made exactly 12 muffins. I left out the jalepenos, as I am a bit of a wimp with hot food, but used chopped red and green peppers instead. I didn't use the olive oil, instead I sprayed the tins with non stick spray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Mexican Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.7
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    55%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 86.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 593.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites