14 Reviews

This was very tasty. Who would've known to pair guac with steak? I used white wine vinegar and apple cider vinegar in place of lemon juice and omitted the dill. Make sure to season the guac to taste as this makes a big difference in the overall flavor. I skipped the steak sauce as well since I hate the stuff and just seasoned my steak with some garlic powder, salt and pepper. A very tasty meal. I'll be enjoying the rest of the guac today with some soft tacos. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleFirebrand January 27, 2011

We enjoyed this but I thought the lemon juice overpowered the other flavors in the guacamole (before making this I was worried the horseradish would be too strong but it wasn't at all). Next time I will use just a splash of lemon juice. Thanks for posting. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms December 20, 2009

very very excelent!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluxadd July 01, 2011

My husband loves horseradish and so I thought this would be a real hit. I was right. His only complaint is that he wished it were more horseradish, so will add a bit more next time. Thanks Nimz for pleasing my hubby's belly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko November 13, 2009

Made this using Ribeye steaks on the outdoor grill; and the flavor was wonderful. I really enjoyed the combination of horseradish with the guacamole. I marinated the steak overnight using A1.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 July 08, 2008

I was so hoping to make this on my outdoor grill but no-go the weather did not permit, I used A-1 Steak Sauce, and for the avocado mixture increased the fresh garlic and reduced the dill to only a pinch, the guacamole goes wonderful with on the side of steak, the steak marinated overnight and I also made the avocado mixture a day ahead to blend flavors, thanks for sharing Nimzie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz May 13, 2008

This is now one of my favorite recipes. My husband loved it! We used the left over guacamole as a spead on sandwiches and they were a hit at my office.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VonnieFL March 17, 2007

Wonderful recipe! We love horseradish with steak so I knew we would love this recipe. I did not have steak sauce so I did as reviewer, FlemishMinx, did and used Kitz's Really Easy and Good Steak Sauce - PERFECT! We grow horseradish so I added fresh horseradish from the garden instead of the prepared horseradish. Wonderful flavor! I love the addition of the avocado to the horseradish and sour cream!!! Ingenious! Thanks Nims!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper October 22, 2006

This was very tasty. I made it according to the recipe (except I marinated the meat overnight, and LOVED it), the only thing I'd change next time is to a *little* easier on the horseradish, it overpowered the other ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama May 22, 2006

Delicious, and super easy! Skipped the dill because the idea didn't appeal to me, and went heavy on the garlic. DH was skeptical, but one bite of the guac with the steak won him over. Good with chips, too. I will definitely make this again. I'd like to try the guac as the sauce for a roast beef wrap with vegies. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vholland March 08, 2006
Grilled Strip Steaks With Horseradish Guacamole