Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Green Chili Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Chili Rice

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2002

      Outstanding. The cumin and cilantro make this dish sing. I served this as a side dish with Chicken Enchiladas. My compliments to you Karen for a wonderful Mexican side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      Really nice side dish to compliment a mexican meal. But a tasty rice dish on it's own as well. Very nice blend of flavors. A much welcome alternative to traditional spanish rice! A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      Great rice; spicy and flavourful. I omitted cumin (because I didn't have it) and I added more salt. I was cooking this for my a few friends in the dorm lounge; by the time I was done, a throng of hungry roomates were ready to dig in. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      I would have rated this dish a 10-1/2, but the ratings don't go up that high! I can't stop eating this rice. Literally, this is the tastiest rice dish I have ever had and I didn't even add the cilantro (DH couldn't find it at the store). The mixture of green chili's, onions and cumin gave the rice an excellent flavor. Almost like a spanish rice but without the tomato sauce. Upon my second helping, I added some shredded cheddar cheese. OMG, it was to die for! It was just my hubby and I and we have NO LEFTOVERS. This is a keeper - no more Lipton Rice & Sauce in a bag. I served this with Tex-Mex Pork Chops by Mille® ™ which complimented this already awesome dish perfectly. I'll make this again, and again. Very Easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      The addition of the green onion and cilantro after cooking the rice gave this such a great kick of flavor! I didn't have chicken broth, so I used a Knorr beef double boullion cube and water. The flavor of the chilies is subtle, not spicy. I served this with Sue L's Santa Fe Pork Medallions with Peach Salsa. What a great meal! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making this one again! -CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      Finally got a chance to make this rice dish, (thanks to a can of chilies being sent to me, we can't buy them here) This dish is so tasty, the mix of flavours a new delight to us. I also made Inez' Beef Enchiladas for a Mexican type meal. Thanks Karen for introducing our palates to this great cuisine! Eve =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2002

      I used some fresh hot pepers instead of the canned green chili's. I made this to put inside chicken burritos. It was GREAT. Have made it about six times in about two weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      This is the first time I've actually seen my husband eat rice instead of moving it around his plate. My rice-hating husband inhaled this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      Really good with Tex-Mex type meals. I just altered the cooking method a little because I was using my trusty ol' stove top rice cooker. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      Very good rice dish, with little more work than just boiling rice! I squeezed a bit of lime juice on the top, in addition to the cilantro. Will definitely make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      This was really good! I love rice and I love green chiles. The combination was really good. I had leftovers so I put some of the leftovers in bell peppers and topped them with Monerey Jack cheese. It was really good. Thaks for a great recipe Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      This was very tasty; spicy without being overly hot. I used a 14 ounce can of vegetable broth instead of 2 cups of chicken broth. I like my rice on the drier side, and this turned out well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Excellent rice! I added garlic too it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      This was really great, and so easy to prepare! Went great with the stuffed avocados with suiza sauce we had for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      We really enjoyed this new taste treat. I whirled the onion and green chilies in the food processor before boiling. I need to perfect my rice making skills cuz it was a little wet. Loved the green onion and cilantro mixed in before serving. YUM! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Absolutely love this recipe! I use it to make homemade Mexican salads (Cafe Rio style for those that know it). Haven't dared to try it with brown rice yet, but plan to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      We enjoyed this rice very much. Used mix of brown / wild rice as that is what I had. I didn't add all of the green onion or all of the cilantro - but it was a very nice dish that I'll make again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I made this because my Husband and I LOVE all the ingredients. But- were surprised that we did not like the combined flavor with the finished rice. Oh well...still fun to try new things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Wonderful! The only thing I did different was used brown rice instead of white. Thanks for a different and yummy way to make rice :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Very good rice! I chose this recipe because of the low fat content (hubby has high cholesterol and we are trying to eat healthier). I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and outcome. Just as good reheated the next day. This is a keeper for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Chili Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    69%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 446.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites