32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Outstanding. The cumin and cilantro make this dish sing. I served this as a side dish with Chicken Enchiladas. My compliments to you Karen for a wonderful Mexican side dish.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust August 08, 2002

Really nice side dish to compliment a mexican meal. But a tasty rice dish on it's own as well. Very nice blend of flavors. A much welcome alternative to traditional spanish rice! A keeper for sure!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty July 23, 2002

Great rice; spicy and flavourful. I omitted cumin (because I didn't have it) and I added more salt. I was cooking this for my a few friends in the dorm lounge; by the time I was done, a throng of hungry roomates were ready to dig in. Thank you for the recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MooseCall June 02, 2002

I would have rated this dish a 10-1/2, but the ratings don't go up that high! I can't stop eating this rice. Literally, this is the tastiest rice dish I have ever had and I didn't even add the cilantro (DH couldn't find it at the store). The mixture of green chili's, onions and cumin gave the rice an excellent flavor. Almost like a spanish rice but without the tomato sauce. Upon my second helping, I added some shredded cheddar cheese. OMG, it was to die for! It was just my hubby and I and we have NO LEFTOVERS. This is a keeper - no more Lipton Rice & Sauce in a bag. I served this with Tex-Mex Pork Chops by Mille® ™ which complimented this already awesome dish perfectly. I'll make this again, and again. Very Easy to make

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz August 25, 2002

The addition of the green onion and cilantro after cooking the rice gave this such a great kick of flavor! I didn't have chicken broth, so I used a Knorr beef double boullion cube and water. The flavor of the chilies is subtle, not spicy. I served this with Sue L's Santa Fe Pork Medallions with Peach Salsa. What a great meal! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making this one again! -CG

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl August 02, 2002

Finally got a chance to make this rice dish, (thanks to a can of chilies being sent to me, we can't buy them here) This dish is so tasty, the mix of flavours a new delight to us. I also made Inez' Beef Enchiladas for a Mexican type meal. Thanks Karen for introducing our palates to this great cuisine! Eve =)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 29, 2002

I used some fresh hot pepers instead of the canned green chili's. I made this to put inside chicken burritos. It was GREAT. Have made it about six times in about two weeks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristi hollingshed December 18, 2002

This is the first time I've actually seen my husband eat rice instead of moving it around his plate. My rice-hating husband inhaled this dish!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Harper August 05, 2002

Really good with Tex-Mex type meals. I just altered the cooking method a little because I was using my trusty ol' stove top rice cooker. Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef blade March 11, 2003

Very good rice dish, with little more work than just boiling rice! I squeezed a bit of lime juice on the top, in addition to the cilantro. Will definitely make again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riflchik November 10, 2007
Green Chili Rice