16 Reviews

Perfect salad for a Mexican buffet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasGal #2 December 07, 2014

A really delicious salad - thank you! This gets rave reviews from everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stormee November 11, 2014

I really love dishes like this! I did tweak a few things- I skipped the garbanzo beans and used orcas instead, and subbed red pepper for the green. This was so easy to make, and the slightly spicy dressing was just perfect. I'll definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH September 07, 2012

Wow! This is so good. I made as directed except left out the green pepper since we don't care for it. I also cut the dressing amount in half just to make it healthier and it was plenty. My whole family loved it and I'm sure I will make again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas December 07, 2011

VERY tasty! The seasonings in the dressing definitely give it an addicting, "have to have one more spoonful" taste!! Will make again & again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicheleE September 17, 2011

If you are looking for a great addition to your recipe book, you just found it. I cannot imagine not having this again. It went great with the enchiladas that my guests could not get enough of. I want to say tyhis would be great on top of fish tacos as well. I got excited and forgot the grape tomoatoes but they werent missed at all. Once again, you need to try this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeremiah Betty Minor July 23, 2011

I thought this was a really good and different salad. Only 4 stars because I did not make it strictly according to the directions. No black beans and I substituted pimentos for the green pepper. I also added almost 2x amount of lime juice. But overall a great saald to have with Mexican food instead of rice and beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calicat July 09, 2011

Fantastic! This was a hot with everyone in my family. My oldest (7 years) called this salad "flavor explosion" salad. Served with rice topped with cheddar cheese - we are vegetarians not vegans and fresh peaches on the side. Perfect meal and since it made so much, we were able to have lunch for the next couple of days (as the spices soaked in to the beans - yum)! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ana Gilbertson June 21, 2011

I have a very large family and we usually get together about once a month for someone's birthday. Everybody brings a dish. I used to be in charge of appetizers. Now it seems like this is the only thing that gets requested. Everybody loves it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladiibugg425 August 14, 2009

Another wonderful recipe from Kittencal! I made this salad for my (salad-averse) brother, and he insisted I leave the leftovers at his place so he can have it all to himself! This recipe is great - my first time making my own salad dressing, and now I'm super confident and would to try out all of your salad dressing recipes on Zaar : ).... Our additions to the salad were as follows: Extra corn, 1 extra jalapeno, 1/2 cup black olives, and 1/4 cup spring/green onions (white and green parts). We also left out the garbanzos and used only Kidney and Black beans. My brother's only suggestion for the next time we make this was to dice the onions vs. slice them, although I liked them sliced just fine! I'm so glad you have a wide selection of vegetarian recipes, and I can't wait to try 'em all out because I KNOW they're all going to be winners :D Thanks again Kitten! You've become famous amongst the Sankar family members!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna the Foodie May 25, 2009
Fantastic Mexican Corn and Bean Salad (Vegetarian)