162 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed the chicken fajitas I made for supper using your wonderful Fajita Seasoning Mix. It's so quick to mix and tastes a million times better than commercial seasonings! Believe I've bought my last packaged! Thanks a bunch for posting. Laudee C.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee September 12, 2002

This recipe is out friggin' standing!
I was using Taco Bell brand packaged fajita mix prior to finding this recipe. I never thought anything could be as good as the T.B. packages. When the packages became hard to come by, I thought I'd experiment with some homemade mixes.
When I saw that this recipe had over 110 positive reviews, I thought I'd give it a shot.
Aaaah maaazing...
It's actually BETTER than the. seasoning that I've been using for years. Made the recipe exactly as described, and used about one Tablespoon per pound of cooked chicken meat. I'll probably experiment with adding a bit more 'heat' ala cayenne and crushed red pepper, (because I have a preference for hot food) but this recipe is fantastic right out of the box.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDLeo March 26, 2011

Not bad but too much salt if you ask me. I cut the salt in half, omitted the bullion, doubled the cumin, and quadrupled the garlic powder. Ended up with just as much flavor with less sodium.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djrichert August 13, 2011

I love to make my own mixes and this one is a winner!!! Way less expensive when you figure out the cost of making vs. buying. Great flavor!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie February 25, 2003

I saw the comments about this not tasting like Lawry's... I think I found the "trick", add lime juice and worchestershire sauce to meat. My husband is also a die hard Lawry's fan!!! I've tried other fajita recipes in the past and he disliked every one... until now. He said these were the best ever! The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is I felt the recipe did need the extra "kick" of lime & worchestershire.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickiNicki February 05, 2007

Made fajitas with leftover turkey, red peppers, and onions with this - had to use the whole batch and added a little water to the mix while frying. I was a little nervous using this recipe with the turkey (I also added a little lime juice that was left over in a bottle) but we loved it! My 2 year old daughter ate 3 fajitas herself!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom March 29, 2011

Loved it, Easy and Very tasty. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbrauchler February 21, 2011

This was wonderful! Perfect balance of sweet, salty and spicy. I had a couple tiny changes- I used pepper flakes instead of the cayenne because I didn't have any, and also added a tiny bit of cinnamon (combining your recipe with another I found on recipezaar). I used it to make my very first chicken fajitas! Thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sephardi Kitchen August 19, 2010

me and my dad were thinkin about what to make for dinner . we just bought some steaks to fry up with some sweet peppers and onions and we were debating on what to use to season it and i wanted something with a bold but sweet flavor not a steak season. i found this and it is a verry tasty recipie. and its not real tangy. thank you verry much it made for a great adition to the dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikefatty1988 May 15, 2010

Not much of a fajita recipe. I ended up with bland chili.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 09, 2015
Fajita Seasoning Mix