Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Fajita Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fajita Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      We really enjoyed the chicken fajitas I made for supper using your wonderful Fajita Seasoning Mix. It's so quick to mix and tastes a million times better than commercial seasonings! Believe I've bought my last packaged! Thanks a bunch for posting. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      This recipe is out friggin' standing!
      I was using Taco Bell brand packaged fajita mix prior to finding this recipe. I never thought anything could be as good as the T.B. packages. When the packages became hard to come by, I thought I'd experiment with some homemade mixes.
      When I saw that this recipe had over 110 positive reviews, I thought I'd give it a shot.
      Aaaah maaazing...
      It's actually BETTER than the. seasoning that I've been using for years. Made the recipe exactly as described, and used about one Tablespoon per pound of cooked chicken meat. I'll probably experiment with adding a bit more 'heat' ala cayenne and crushed red pepper, (because I have a preference for hot food) but this recipe is fantastic right out of the box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      I love to make my own mixes and this one is a winner!!! Way less expensive when you figure out the cost of making vs. buying. Great flavor!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Not bad but too much salt if you ask me. I cut the salt in half, omitted the bullion, doubled the cumin, and quadrupled the garlic powder. Ended up with just as much flavor with less sodium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I saw the comments about this not tasting like Lawry's... I think I found the "trick", add lime juice and worchestershire sauce to meat. My husband is also a die hard Lawry's fan!!! I've tried other fajita recipes in the past and he disliked every one... until now. He said these were the best ever! The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is I felt the recipe did need the extra "kick" of lime & worchestershire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Made fajitas with leftover turkey, red peppers, and onions with this - had to use the whole batch and added a little water to the mix while frying. I was a little nervous using this recipe with the turkey (I also added a little lime juice that was left over in a bottle) but we loved it! My 2 year old daughter ate 3 fajitas herself!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Loved it, Easy and Very tasty. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      This was wonderful! Perfect balance of sweet, salty and spicy. I had a couple tiny changes- I used pepper flakes instead of the cayenne because I didn't have any, and also added a tiny bit of cinnamon (combining your recipe with another I found on recipezaar). I used it to make my very first chicken fajitas! Thanks for posting :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      me and my dad were thinkin about what to make for dinner . we just bought some steaks to fry up with some sweet peppers and onions and we were debating on what to use to season it and i wanted something with a bold but sweet flavor not a steak season. i found this and it is a verry tasty recipie. and its not real tangy. thank you verry much it made for a great adition to the dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

    • on January 16, 2014

      I made chicken fajitas using your spice mixture and they tasted just like fajitas from our local Mexican restaurant. This will be my go to spice from now on as I normally spend a whooping $2.98 a package for seasoning that only tastes half as good as this. Thank you so much for the great recipe Kathy at Food.com!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      This was easy and I had everything I needed on my spice/herb shelf. I skipped the chili and cayenne (little ones don't like it). Made one batch with chicken bouillon and the second with beef bouillon. I used the dry packets that I get in the Mexican food section. Everyone loved it! I'll never by store fajita mix again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Delicious! Enough for 2-3 batches. Put some lime juice on the chicken, cooked it, stirred in this mix, added some stock & veggies. Really good. Subbed red pepper flakes for cayanne. Even our toddler ate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      This is a great mix. I used it to make chicken fajitas but it would be just as good with steak. It has a nice rich taste to it but needs a bit more cayenne pepper Next time I will double that ingredient. also, I added two tbsp of the mix to a cup of water in the same pan as the cooked meat and veggies, yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      I forgot to buy fajita seasoning at the store, so I went online to find a recipe. This one sounded pretty good, so I gave it a shot. My family thought it was okay, but it definitely didn't have as much flavor as the packets (we aren't loyal to any one brand... we use what's on sale). I'd probably use this recipe again in a pinch, but I think we still prefer store-bought. Thanks for sharing your recipe... you really helped me out of a bind. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      I haven't bought a packet of seasoning mix since we found this recipe about 3 years ago! We all love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      I signed up for this site just to rate this recipe - it was so easy, and we had everything to make it already. Best part, it was delicious in our steak and shrimp fajitas. So easy, so tasty, I am sharing it with others. I will never buy fajita mix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      This was great! I had all but the cumin but it still turned out great. I threw it all in my spice grinder (my old coffee bean grinder) since my onion was the flakes not the powder. I would have to agree, I won't be buying the packaged stuff anymore, this was way better, easy and quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I'm hispanic, I'm from Mexican heritage. I'm an American. But I must say, this recipe for chicken fajita seasoning is way off. It's not even close to a real chicken fajita seasoning. Apologies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fajita Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    16%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 277.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites