Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / El Pollo Loco Mexican Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    El Pollo Loco Mexican Beans

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2012

      These were some kicky beanies, lol! Great (and super-simple) way to dress up canned pintos. I used some smoked serrano chile powder for this. BTW, these made awesome refrieds, too -- spicy and so creamy. Thanks for posting! Made for The Honeys for ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      Great charro beans! Fairly spicy with a nice texture. I did drain my beans before adding the water and they came out great. Enjoyed these - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      Yum! I don't know that we've ever had EPL in Washington, so I've never tried the original. This however, was wonderful, and very easy to make. The only change I might consider is to add some garlic and onion, both of which complement beans beautifully. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      This recipe is very close to the one we used in the EPL restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I live in Idaho now and we don't have El Pollo Loco here, I really don't miss much about Ca expect the weater and Pollo Loco!! We made the beans last night for a party and they taste JUST like El Pollo Loco beans YAY...................... Thank you for the recipe : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This technique add great flavor to canned beans. I did not drain the beans and added just a bit of water. I used ground ancho chile pepper instead of ground serrano because that's what I had. I sliced the whole serrano chile lengthwise before adding it to the beans. Spicy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Surprise, surprise...I really didn't think this would have any real flavor...but it did. I have to admit that I cut the recipe in half but used the full amount of chili (sliced and kept in the beans) only because we love the heat. Now...it didn't say to drain the beans and based on looneytunesfan photo I decided not to add any water. Loved it! Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      I couldn't find any ground serrano chile so I replaced it with ground pasilla chile, I also cut the oil in half and otherwise followed the recipe. My DBF was pleased to get the serrano for his taco. These beans make a quick and easy side dish perfect for any Mexican Dinner. Thank you Lazyme :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I'm so thrilled to find this recipe. I grew up in San Diego and its the food that I go back for.. I don't usually buy serrano chilies, but it was so worth it. I was unable to find the powdered, so I used chili arbol. I will try to find the serrano's, dried, on an upcoming trip to Florida, and definitely try this again. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      When I moved away from San Diego the thing that I missed most was the foods I could get there (what I would give for El Pollo Loco and Rubio's Taco's :) ) these were wonderful, brought the restaurant to my home. Yummy!! Will be making these again for sure. Thankx Lazyme

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This was AWESOME. It tasted just like El Pollo Loco's beans. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I moved from California to Texas and don't have El Pollo Loco nearby. I loved their beans and these taste just like the real thing! Yum-o!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for El Pollo Loco Mexican Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.3
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    13%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    47%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    serrano chilies

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites