10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The first time I made this, it was a little sweet for my taste. The second time, I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and it was perfect! For an even yummier adult beverage, add a shot or two of Kahlua. To die for!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizwendy December 24, 2006

All I can say is DELICIOUS! I even added in a pinch cayenne pepper, my DH loved this, thanks for sharing this great hot chocolate recipe kolibri!...Kitten :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen March 31, 2007

This was "the best hot chocolate I've ever had" according to my husband. :) VERY yummy. I only used 1/4 c. of sugar, and ended up adding more milk as well... I will probably use 4 cups of milk (2 %) the next time I make it with maybe 1/3 c. of sugar. I used Trader Joe's 72% dark chocolate (our favorite!!) I quit using packaged hot chocolate mixes a while back, and now I know we will never go back! :) Thanks for the recipe. It was the perfect complement to our rainy afternoon!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Al Al January 17, 2007

Excellent recipe, and extremely satisfying, although I chickened out of trying the chile powder. :) Next time I'll be more adventurous. I used 3 oz of bakers semi-sweet chocolate, and reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also didn't have instant espresso, and just used instant regular coffee. It was just the right sweetness, and nice and chocolatey. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casual Cookie September 24, 2006

Excellent! I had no vanilla extract or espresso, and i whisked the chile powder in with the cinnamon (and added nutmeg). It was very tasty, and I think, could do with a bit less sugar... I will be sure to try it with the other ingredients next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Techie Pet November 06, 2005

my little sister and I had this with some cookies this morining! A very good drink with a kick! I put little less papper for her though, and it was really yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Italy October 09, 2005

Just perfect! I used a mexican chocolate tablet, a cinnamon stick instead of ground, and had no vanilla bean so just plain old extract. Still yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K October 08, 2005

This was so very good! I loved the spicy chili pepper with the hot chocolate. I used a Vanilla Bean, Mexican Instant Coffee and a bar portion of Mexican baking chocolate. This was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper October 07, 2005

10 Stars!!! loved the flavor..I sprinkled chili powder on top of mine... takes me back to MOLE night :)) I used vanilla extract and low fat milk. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP October 04, 2005

OH YEAH!! This is goooood stuff - rich & creamy. I didn't bother grating the chocolate. I used a vanilla bean (then reused it to make more cocoa!) I cut back the sugar to 1/2c the 2nd time around & will reduce it further to 1/4c next time. We sprinkled a bit of Ancho chili powder on top w/some whipped cream. Heavenly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo October 03, 2005
Easy Hot Spiced Mexican Hot Chocolate