Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Easy Hot Spiced Mexican Hot Chocolate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Hot Spiced Mexican Hot Chocolate

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2006

      The first time I made this, it was a little sweet for my taste. The second time, I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and it was perfect! For an even yummier adult beverage, add a shot or two of Kahlua. To die for!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      All I can say is DELICIOUS! I even added in a pinch cayenne pepper, my DH loved this, thanks for sharing this great hot chocolate recipe kolibri!...Kitten :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      This was "the best hot chocolate I've ever had" according to my husband. :) VERY yummy. I only used 1/4 c. of sugar, and ended up adding more milk as well... I will probably use 4 cups of milk (2 %) the next time I make it with maybe 1/3 c. of sugar. I used Trader Joe's 72% dark chocolate (our favorite!!) I quit using packaged hot chocolate mixes a while back, and now I know we will never go back! :) Thanks for the recipe. It was the perfect complement to our rainy afternoon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Excellent recipe, and extremely satisfying, although I chickened out of trying the chile powder. :) Next time I'll be more adventurous. I used 3 oz of bakers semi-sweet chocolate, and reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also didn't have instant espresso, and just used instant regular coffee. It was just the right sweetness, and nice and chocolatey. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      Excellent! I had no vanilla extract or espresso, and i whisked the chile powder in with the cinnamon (and added nutmeg). It was very tasty, and I think, could do with a bit less sugar... I will be sure to try it with the other ingredients next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      my little sister and I had this with some cookies this morining! A very good drink with a kick! I put little less papper for her though, and it was really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      Just perfect! I used a mexican chocolate tablet, a cinnamon stick instead of ground, and had no vanilla bean so just plain old extract. Still yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This was so very good! I loved the spicy chili pepper with the hot chocolate. I used a Vanilla Bean, Mexican Instant Coffee and a bar portion of Mexican baking chocolate. This was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      10 Stars!!! loved the flavor..I sprinkled chili powder on top of mine... takes me back to MOLE night :)) I used vanilla extract and low fat milk. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      OH YEAH!! This is goooood stuff - rich & creamy. I didn't bother grating the chocolate. I used a vanilla bean (then reused it to make more cocoa!) I cut back the sugar to 1/2c the 2nd time around & will reduce it further to 1/4c next time. We sprinkled a bit of Ancho chili powder on top w/some whipped cream. Heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Hot Spiced Mexican Hot Chocolate

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.9
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    16%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 93.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 43.6 g
    174%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites