Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Easy Crispy Taco Turnovers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Crispy Taco Turnovers

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2010

      Did these in my George Forman grill instead of frying in oil and they still turned out crispy and delicious. I used leftover shredded beef instead of HB. This was a great idea for a change from the ususal mexican dishes I've made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

    • on April 08, 2007

      Okay, but lacked flavor. My suggestions: - add spices after draining meat - roast jalapenos under the broiler - use more spices or a taco season packet - use a more authentic Mexican cheese. This made 6 for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      So easy to make and so tasty. I used about 3 tsp of chili powder and a mix of monterey jack and cheddar. I sliced my tomatoes instead of chopping because I'm lazy and it seemed to work out well. Used sliced jalapenos and baked in the oven for about 7 minutes at 400 degrees. Added a little extra cheese to the top and backed an additional 1-2 minutes until the cheese melted. Served this with homemade salsa and sour cream. Thanks Oz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      so easy and delish. I browned them in my George Forman grill to make them crisp lika a panini, then served them w/ sour cream, salsa, and guacamole. YUM. they also taste great with an assotment of different cheeses. i love using a mexican 4-cheese or italian cheese mix. but, experiment and find what you like best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      My husband and I thought these were wonderful crispy tacos. I used 1 T. chili powder and thinly sliced jalapeno pepper rings instead of chopped. These taste the best right out of the pan but also re-heated pretty well in the microwave. We had these for lunch but would be the perfect football watchin' snack. Thanks Oz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      Very good... tasted like a mexican pizza almost. Only change I made is to brush with olive oil and place in oven for ten minutes. I sprinkled a little more cheese on top before serving. My family gobbled these right up. Excellent for kids because they aren't ultra spicy. We'll definitely make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      Loved it, loved it, loved it!!! It was very simple to make and the whole family enjoyed it. I made a few changes. My family doesn't eat ground meat so instead I used 1lb shredded chicken and then mixed the chicken in with a packet of taco seasoning and 3/4 cup of water. Awesome!! I will be making this again, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      Delicious! Well written and easy to follow recipe, they turned out perfectly. I made them exactly according to the specifications in the recipe and oh man, were they good! No, it had nothing to do with the tequila we drank while cooking! Thanks for a winner OzMan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      These are great. DS didn't like them because he saw an onion, so I was able to have the leftover meat for a couple of lunches. First meal was with pepper jack, jalapenos and tomatoes. Lunch the next day was with cheddar and my homemade salsa. It was so good, I did the same thing the next day. I just sprayed the griddle with butter flavored cooking spray instead of frying. Thank you, *OzMan*.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      My 16 year old son had to make a mexican dinner as an assignment for his Spanish class. We chose this because it seemed something he could easily handle, and because of all the great reviews. We all thought it was great, and very fast and easy to prepare. It's also so easy to fix to everyones liking by omitting tomatoes for one, and adding the chilies for another and extra cheese on all! Fast, easy, tasty, what else could you want?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      This was a great tasting easy recipe. I added the jalapeno peppers along with the onions when browning the meat. I also increased the chili powder. I didn't really measure it. I just gave it a few extra shakes. I will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      We really enjoyed this recipe. Easy to put together and very tasty with only a few ingredients. I served with rice and beans for a great dinner. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      Fantastic!!and easy to make recipe Oz! I have had this recipe in my cookbook and been waiting on my taste buds to move into mexican mood and today was the day! LOL I did change it alittle though to fit our taste. Since I am not to king on tomatoes being hot in a recipe like this one, I lefted them out. I also added some cumin to give it a bit more flavor and while in pan browning the tortillas (I used floured tortillas BTW) I sprinkled some Johnny's seasoning salt over them. I had this along with other recipes I was making.Everything went to together very well too. Thanks for sharing this simple and tasty recipe! Its a keeper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      These were amazing! I used regular size flour tortillas and cut them in half. I served this as an entree paired with a side of mexican rice. I highly recommend using plenty of cheese in these as it helps the filling to stay in when frying the tortillas and makes them taste much better! Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      These were great! I can't believe I waited so long to make these....I didn't know what I was missing! Made a couple minor changes: I only used 1/4 t of salt, as we're not salt lovers and I used a can of Rotel, placing it on the mixture after the cheese was added. These were so easy and tasted great for a quick weeknight meal! Thanks for the super recipe OzMan...we will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Just adding my 5 stars to this fabulous recipe. I also love it for it's versatility, so many directions you could go with this. Thanks Oz!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      Very easy and very good. Great kid food and great football food! I didn't make them very spicy, due to chidren eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      I should have followed Oz advice and added more chili powder. I will do that next time. Used the garlic and diced green chilies, next time I'm going to do 1/2 jalapenos and 1/2 green chilies. Easy and very tasty! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      So simple so good! Loved that I could make as many as I needed and didn't have to make the whole thing. Just pulled the fixins out throughout the weekend when someone was hungry. Good, easy to understand instructions too. Thanks Oz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Crispy Taco Turnovers

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 652.3
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    47%
    Total Fat 34.1 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 123.9 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1413.5 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 43.1 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites