9 Reviews

yummy, quick and simple. After reading the previous reviews I too omitted one can of soup. Family preference dictates no green chilies so I left those out too. The concept is easy and adaptable. One could easily vary the salsa, types of beans and even the meat with good results. I cannot wait to try this with pork or beef. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH June 19, 2009

Really yummy. I browned the chicken before putting it in the crockpot, and used fresh onions, pepper and tomato instead of salsa. I will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treava January 27, 2008

This was our dinner tonight. I used kidney beans & pickled jalapenos, as well as adding extra chili powder, cumin & cayenne for our taste. There was a little too much liquid for our taste, so next time I'll cut this back. I served with guacamole, sour cream, extra cheese & tortillas. Thanks Lvs2Cook for sharing this recipe. Made for ZWT3 for the Floozies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl October 25, 2007

Loved this recipe! My DH and I made burritos and my DD and her friend had it in a bowl. Lots of flavor, only cooked mine for 4 hours because my crockpot cooks so fast. Thanks Lvs2Cook for sharing such an easy and delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick August 18, 2007

Yummers! After reading other reviews, I left out the mushroom soup and water. There was PLENTY of liquid after shredding the 3 medium size chicken breasts I used. My husband said it's his most favorite Mexican dish that I've made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teneillr September 11, 2011

This is so good! When I'm being good, I skip the tortilla and put it over shredded lettuce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom January 19, 2009

I followed this reciped exactly as written and we enjoyed this very much. I'll have to agree with some of the other reviews that there seems to be a lot of liquid. I served these burrito style, but had trouble rolling them up because the "juice" was oozing out all over the place. Next time, I'm going to try leaving out the water. Definitely a keeper anyway! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilchris February 23, 2008

This is a fantastic recipe, it is quick and easy and delicious. It was so great to come home to dinner already made, and it only took me about 5 minutes to throw it all together. Because some of the other reviews said this was too watery, I decided to leave out the cream of mushroom soup. Still, I had to add some flour in to thicken it up. The only other change I made was to use taco sauce instead of salsa, since I don't really care for the chunks of vegetables in salsa. Thanks again for a great recipe, we'll be using this quite often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonpoodle December 06, 2007

Delicious, easy recipe. I made it exactly as stated, I just threw in a few extra chicken breasts. I would make a few changes next time though, which I believe might make it a 5-star recipe... I would use hot salsa instead of mild, and I would probably omit one of the cans of soup. It seemed like an awful lot of sauce for 6 chicken breasts. I thickened it up a bit with some flour 10 minutes before serving. We ate it on tortillas with lettuce, tomatoes, and cheese. It was delicious already, and with a few minor changes, will be a 5-start meal! I WILL be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
esm4877 March 21, 2006
Crock Pot Mexican Chicken