Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Cream of Zucchini Soup (Crema De Calabacitas) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Zucchini Soup (Crema De Calabacitas)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2009

      I just made the soup and used some chicken base in place of the chicken broth. Used an immersion blender instead of a regular one to blend the soup. Added about 1 tbl. of minced garlic and the flavors blended nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2014

      This soup is bland. I couldn't even bring myself to put an exclamation point behind the word "bland," that's how bland it is. I followed the recipe to the letter and am in the process of trying to save it. I've added kosher salt, habanero seasoning, chili powder, celery salt...nothing. I had some chicken breast that I had marinated in olive oil and lemon juice, chopped it up and threw it in. Waa waa. I just added a bag of corn and may chop up a pepper and add it. It's one potato away from turning into a chowder. It will turn out fine eventually; maybe the problem is that I was expecting flavor from zucchini and was enthused about the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      I made this exactly as posted, and the end result was a mildly flavored cream soup. I definitely agree that this would make a wonderful base for a heartier soup or chowder by the addition of some chunky vegetables and meat. It is also would make a nice side cup of soup to a grilled cheese or other type of sandwich, but is not very filling on its own. It's a great way to use up your zucchini bounty in a new and different way. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      This is such a nice and easy soup, a great way to use up summer's bounty of zucchini. I used fat free evaporated milk and low sodium chicken broth, and added some pepper rather than salt at the end. The soup was mildly flavored, so it paired beautifully with the fiery Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich for a lovely supper. Next time I think I will add a bit of garlic with the onion. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Made for Spring 2009 PAC and will be making again!!! I added probably a small handful of cilantro which overpowered the soup but I LOVE cilantro so that was fine by me ;). Very easy to make as mikekey said. The evaporated milk really made it creamy which surprised me (never used it in a soup before). My DH suggested it'd also make a nice base for a chowder: add seafood and/or corn or potatoes to it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Great way to use up an overabundance of those zucchini in the summer. Mine didn't turn out very green, so I wonder if I didn't have quite enough zucchini... I enjoyed the cilantro, but when I tasted it after combining the remaining ingredients I felt it still needed something, so I added thyme like another reviewer suggested and about 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper - then it was just right! Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      This is really simple to make and very tasty! I did not use water to cook the zukes, but used chicken broth, which gave it extra flavor. I added all of the cooking liquid to the blender and only added another 1/2 cup additional broth. I might add more cilantro next time since we really like that flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      Sorry, but I found this to be rather blah. I added more onion and a couple cloves of garlic and still thought it was way to bland.My DH thought we were having broccoli soup and said he couldn't tell the difference. This is just my taste so in its favor, it was easy to make with easy to follow directions and really I think most people would like it. Thank you, Bayhill for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I have cooked this recipe for years with the addition of 1/4 tsp thyme. It is delicious. Use smaller zucchini, the flesh is sweeter.I add extra water and Sysco chicken base to make the broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Zucchini Soup (Crema De Calabacitas)

    Serving Size: 1 (482 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.4
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    54%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 41.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 354.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites