9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How clever! These were great as written but I have since tweaked them with taco seasoning and sharp cheddar cheese and served with Taco soup! YUM! I've shared the recipe with a friend who has a catering company and she has gotten rave reviews every time she uses it! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheCheCherie January 10, 2011

I love them! And we like spicey hot food so I added fresh diced Jalapenos and garlic to the corn muffin mix. I used green and red pepper cups and after baking sliced them into rings and topped with cheese...popped under the broiler and served them at a Superbowl Party....they were the first to go! (Picture is before the cheese and broiler >

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppers onion n garlic O my March 06, 2010

AWESOME! Every once in a while, a recipe comes along that just makes you say, WOW! This was one of those for me. DH and I both agreed this was an easy five stars and then some. Easy to make, fantastic presentation, and the peppers added great flavor to the cornbread (and poblanos aren't spicy - even my two-year-old ate this). Leftovers were just as tasty as the first night. I chose not to use pimentos since I don't care for them. I used just three peppers, but this did make the filling overflow slightly; I believe four peppers would be perfect. This was served with another keeper - Chipotle Chicken Skewers With Creamy Cilantro Dipping Sauce; the two combined made for an exceptional meal! I'll never make corn muffins any other way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 September 29, 2008

Made these tonight. Used 3 large poblano peppers instead of the 6 and found I had just enough muffin batter to fill them. I did bake the peppers for 15 mins at 350 before filling with the batter as I like my peppers on the soft side. Drained out the liquid which pools in the peppers. They were still firm enough when done to pick up. Didn't have the cilantro or the pimento and they still came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny kitchen, big chef May 22, 2008

We enjoyed these cornbread-stuffed peppers! Easy to make and tasty. I added a little more cheese on top during the last minute of baking. These peppers were really good - thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 02, 2008

Yummy! I made this for a brunch, everyone loved it! I did prebake the chilis in the oven for approx 20min until they were slightly soft. Let them cool and used them the next morning for the brunch. Thank you so much for this recipe, will be making it over and over!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtnmel January 21, 2008

I also used half the recommended pimientos and replaced the other half with diced green chilies. It was EXCELLENT! Very flavorful, but not overwhelming.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess#6 January 05, 2008

These are great! A very unusual way to serve cornbread. I've never been a fan of Jiffy, but with all that you've added it's EXCEPTOINAL. Baked them for 22 minutes and tested done, however a couple of them were not completely done way down in the pepper. Wonder how they would work if roasted the peppers slightly before filling . . . might just have to try it the next time! Thanks for sharing Sharon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench October 01, 2007

What a fun idea! Given the irregular shape of a poblano, they were a bit challenging position on the pan without spilling the mix but I managed to work it out. (Wonder if they could be _nestled_ in salt to provide stability?)Note - don't de-stem; just deseed. Otherwise you leave a hole in the end. My pimiento was only a 2 ounce jar so I added 4 ounces of diced green chiles. The baking time was perfect for me - 15 minutes convection (which would be about 19-20 minutes thermal baked time). Now for the taste - WONDERFUL! Moist and flavorful; no need for butter - just get a bite of the pepper. This was truly a delight to make and eat! Thanks so much for posting this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie July 12, 2007
Corn Muffins in Poblano Cups