11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been using this recipe for quite awhile now. My boyfriend wants it every week. I have started adding a bit more green chilies, but otherwise, it is perfect as is.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelby127 April 03, 2009

I remade this again, only this time I made a couple changes. I used fresh anaheim chiles (and threw in 2 pasilla chiles for some heat) since these chiles are often used for chile rellenos anyway. I also used buttermilk, seasoned salt, and the mexican blend of 4 cheeses available in a packet pre-grated. I also threw in half a packet of taco seasoning to the beef after browning and draining it, which I thought added some nice flavor. As before, thanks again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum December 15, 2005

Quick, easy, deliciousness! I've made this several times now and there has never been a bite leftover. It's great as written, but amenable to variation. I've also made it with leftover chili instead of the meat/onion mixture. It's also good with corn or hominy added. We like it served with sour cream and salsa.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle May 03, 2011

I wanted to make something quick and easy, but also tasty for supper and this was all of the above. The boys and I unanimously voted this a winner. I added some chopped jalapenos to the bottom layer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
islandgirl77551 July 06, 2005

I've been wanting to make this and am very glad I did so tonight! After reading a few others reviews I did season the meat with a little taco seasoning and used a 7 ounce can of green chilies. Hubby was thrilled and had 2 huge plates of this. Served with hominy and black beans. Very good dish Star - you did your Mom proud by posting this one! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ March 30, 2014

This is a good recipe. We did find it a bit lacking in flavor, and I doubled the green chiles (which I highly recommend). But here's the thing - once I sprinkled green Tabasco on it, it really transformed it into a yummy comfort food that I craved for two days while eating leftovers! I suppose it just needed a little extra "oomph"...for us anyway. I'll definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 August 22, 2006

Good. Much better than another chile rellenos casserole I tried once.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodiemama August 09, 2005

I finally had a chance to make this recipe the other night. It was so easy and super tasty. I ended up using cheddar cheese because it was all I had on hand. And it was good despite the substitution. I can't wait to try it with the Monterey Jack cheese. My husband and I ate most of it the night I made it. The recipe would definitely need to be doubled if making it for four or more people. You could easily add more peppers if you wanted more a pepper taste. But it was great the way it was. Thanks for posting an easy and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie in St. Charles May 01, 2005

This was very good and so simple too! I did add some garlic with the onions and used fresh green chilies. Next time I think I will use more cheese. Only problem I had is that it definitely does not feed 6. It was just enough for the 3 of us. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara February 13, 2005
Chiles Rellenos Casserole