22 Reviews

We all loved these burgers! The only modification I made was to use fresh jalapeno peppers from my garden, which we grilled along wih the burgers. Delicious! Thanks for sharing such a good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover August 03, 2012

Loved these burgers! The combination of the cumin and chili powder really gave the burgers a great taste and the combo of the ketsup and salsa was wonderful as well. We used pepper-jack cheese so I did not use the green chilies; however, I love them and will use them next time because believe me, there will be a next time. Made for the Everyday is a Holiday tag, December, 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry December 16, 2011

update..cannot stress enough how good this technique is and how yummy Super burgers! The flavor was excellent but there were two things that made these special. One was the cooking method. I had never used the add, cover, add, cover method before and when you arent doing a bbq this was perfect. The heat from the cover cooks them evenly and to be frank the steam stops the hard black crust which you sometimes get from a skillet. Secondly adding the seasoning on top, instead of all mixed in gives the full flavor but allows people to decide how much or how little of the spicing they might want.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba September 01, 2009

I prepared this last night and it was really good! I opted to grill my burgers. Had to use regular American cheese because that's all I had. Go figure, no one followed the recipe but me. They thought it was weird. It was a bit spicy because of the type of salsa I used along with the chiles...but not to the point of crying about it. I enjoyed all the flavors of this burger. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 May 26, 2014

Really good burgers! I wanted to cook them on the grill because I needed to grill a chicken breast for another recipe, so I mixed the spices in with the meat. I grilled the onions as well. I had pepper jack cheese, but still used the green chilies and used a few jalapenos as well. Also toasted the buns on the grill. Waited until the last minute to add the cheese and the ketchup/salsa mix was a hit! I can't wait to try them inside.....after reading other reviews about the method I am now intrigued. Thanks for sharing! Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 15, 2014

these are so flavorful loved them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 21, 2012

Excellent burger. I made two modifications: used 1 1/4 lb hamburger and canned jalapeno peppers. Love the spice! Made for the Best of 2009 Cookbook Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana February 09, 2010

The weather made it impossible to grill hamburgers as planned, and since the ones I pan-fry always seem to end up kind of dry and bland, I went looking for a way to jazz them up. This recipe really exceeded expectations! Per other reviews, I seasoned the raw patties all over and made the sauce several hours in advance and would recommend both of those minor changes. I had planned to kick things up a little with jalapenos, but found I was out of both fresh and pickled (a rare occurence around here!) I compensated by using some fairly spicy salsa, and all my little fire-eaters loved it. The one thing I was hesitant about was the sour cream, but it actually turned out to be my favorite part. Thanks for a delightfully different twist on a classic, Annacia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton January 25, 2010

Wow, did these hit the spot! Everyone asked me where I got the recipe and I told them I have a secret place with special recipse :) These were flavorful and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SheilaCanney January 16, 2010
Chile Rellenos Burgers