Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      This was wonderful!Even my picky husband liked it.It was very easy to prepare after a long day at work.I had to substitute grated cheddar for the monterey jack.I served a simple green salad with this casserole.It was perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      Wow!! Saw this recipe yesterday and couldn't wait to get home from work to prepare it. It is amazing how the sweetness from the cornbread and the sourness of the sour cream work so well together. This recipe is definitely a KEEPER!!! Darlene Ross

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2002

      I first got this recipe off the Pillsbury website, but lost it and couldn't find the recipe on Pillsbury again. Thank heavens for Recipezaar! This is one of my husband's favorite chicken dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2003

      Great flavor! This makes into a pretty golden dish. I used 1 cup of sour cream and a box of Jiffy Corn Muffin mix, because that is what I had on hand. I use a GE Contact Grill for chicken and burgers. Ready in 7 mins. or less. Thanks for your post! Peggy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      Excellent! I put the 2T canned chopped mild green chiles in the topping as directed. Then I put the remainder of the can in the corn bread mixture. Next time, I'll plan to have chicken for dinner one night planning for leftovers for this dish the next. For tonight, though, it took practically no time at all to broil a couple breasts and thighs to 'just barely done' in preparation for this. Although not as cheesy as I had imagined, this dish is very hearty and satisfying. You'll probably want any side dishes to be 'light'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      We love this recipe, but we are also watching our carbs. So I used a low-carb cornbread mix and skipped the can of whole kernel corn. No one noticed the difference!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      I'm new to recipezaar, and this was the first recipe I tried. I loved the smell of the garlic and onion cooking. I added half a can of cream of chicken soup and a whole 4-ounce can of green chili to the topping, but left out the mushrooms because we don't like them. It tasted like a cross between chicken enchilladas and green corn tamales. There are only four of us, but there was only one serving left (which my son micrwaved the next day and wished there had been two servings left). It was so good that I made it again the next week. My friend was there while I was making it and copied the recipe. She made it the following night and her family of five ate it all. After dinner she found her husband in the kitchen scraping out and eating the crumbs from the baking dish. When caught he said, "Next time double the recipe." I'll mke this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      What an interesting casserole. We really liked the flavor combinations. It tried to make it a little lighter by using only 2 T. of butter, fat free sour cream, and 1 cup of mozarella cheese on top and it was still very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      Awesome, fantastic, delicious, easy, and satisfying! This recipe has it all. I did add 2 tablespoons of sugar to the cornbread mixture because we like sweeter cornbread, but that is strictly a personal taste thing and doesn't affect how truly GREAT this recipe is. Thanks Mark!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      I really liked the recipe, Mark. It makes a great meal. My family ate it all up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      I thought this dish was very tasty, but next time I will use less sour cream, maybe 1/2 of what the recipe calls for. In my opinion, the sour cream overpowers the chicken and cornbread flavors. Besides this, my Husband LOVED it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      Originally found this recipe looking to use up leftover rotisserie chicken. This is divine! Everyone who tastes it, wants more and requests the recipe. It was a hit at the office pot luck as well. I now buy a rotisserie chicken expressly for deboning it, dicing it up and freezing up 2.5 cup portions to have on hand to make this. And it's even better the next day after microwaving. The jack cheese is creamier. Do yourself a favor and try out this recipe as written & then make changes according to taste. You won't regret it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      Wow! This is my original recipe from the 1994 Pillsbury Bake-off. I had no idea so many people enjoyed this recipe. It's great to see all of the neat changes people try to make it their own. Thanks for sharing it on this website. It used to be on the Pillsbury site and then after a while it disappeared. Now I see they put it in the Best of the Bake-Off Casseroles book in 2010. Don't be afraid to try to enter the Bake-Off. You never know!
      Lori N.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      I first wanted to say thank you for sharing this fun and easy recipe. This recipe was great. It was easy and I almost always have these things on hand to make this. My husband loves cornbread so this is another reason that it works so well. Anyone can make this and be successful. It reheats best in oven, in my opinion as it give a crispy edge but if you microwave the dish, it will have a more softer, creamier texture. I will make this again. It is flavorful but I might add more green chiles and onion as I really like intense seasoning but this is just my preference. I served this with a simple green salad and a mixed vegetable medley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      This is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      my fiances fav meal ever.i always have to double mine so we have it for 2 days and for lunch also.i use krust-ez honey cornbread mix, and i buy the dried onions in the bottle from the spice section..i also use mexican corn instead of whole kernal corn...i switch up the cheeses all the time for different tastes. but that krust-ez is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Really good. I have made it several times. I've made the whole casserole and halved it as well. The only change I make is I use a couple of tablespoons of pace salsa instead of the chilies. I think that cooking the onions before they go in the cornbread makes a big difference. If you leave out the mushrooms it shouldn't make a big difference. It reheats very well. Thanks so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      This was really tasty, but I really had issues getting it cooked thoroughly in the middle, It may because I did not want to use a 1/2 cup of butter, so used 1/4 cup and then added a couple splashes buttermilk instead. I used a whole can of green chilies in the filling, Seems like it may turn out better if the chicken was put in the bottom of the casserole with the cornbread poured over it. I will try this again soon with a few revisions. Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Made this for the third time tonight and it just keeps getting better. I veganized this by making the following substitutions: flaxseed+water (eggs), "chicken" flavored seitan (chicken), tofutti sour cream (sour cream), follow your heart monterey jack vegan cheese (cheese). I totally spaced on getting canned cream corn so I just made some from frozen corn using DiB's "creamed corn" recipe here from here on Recipezaar. I also didn't have any mushrooms and my wife doesn't like them so I left them out. I took some other commenters' advice and used a whole can of green chiles which really adds to the depth of flavor. Great recipe though. I'm sure it will be come a regular in our house :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Darn it! I over cooked it by 30 minutes. But, it was still great. The top was crispy and chewy but it was pure comfort food. I do recommend the whole can of green chilies, for sure. It needs that extra bit of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.7
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    59%
    Total Fat 22.3 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 63.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 780.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes