Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Poblano Chowder

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2014

      Great warming soup. It made a lot so I froze it to take to work. I added just 2 peppers, this was the first time eating poblano peppers. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      This is now a family favorite. Everyone loved this, even my husband who typically isn't excited about soup. He loved this one! Everything about it is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      This soup was delicious!!! I also used rotisserie chicken. I had some leftover baked potatos also so I peeled them, chopped them up, and added them at the very end. My husband also loves cheese so he added some cheddar too! Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      this was soooo tasty!! we all loved this, including my 3 yo dd!!! i made a few changes: used a rotisserie chicken from the deli, i roasted 1 of the poblanos for some added flavor, used parsley instead of cilantro and just added the heavy cream to the soup at the end instead of doing the whole roux thing. this was so wonderful and easy! will make often. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Excellent chowder! A favorite at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      What a treat! I made a vegetarian version of this using Quorn brand tenders instead of chicken and vegetable stock, along with poblano peppers from my container garden. It was creamy, rich, and extremely flavorful. Be sure not to skip the fresh cilantro; it combines with the other ingredients to create a very unique flavor. This was also great re-heated over the next couple of days--probably even better than the first night. It makes quite a bit of soup too, so for a smaller family, I would make a half recipe or freeze half. Sue, thank you for sharing such a great recipe! I know we'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Mmmm. I had a poblano pepper to use up and also wanted to get some chicken soup in me as I was fighting a cold. COMFORT FOOD and such a nice twist on the usual chicken soup. I will be doing this AGAIN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I cut this down for four servings and it was great for the two of us with a little left over. We both thought it had great flavor. I used one half roasted poblano and one jalapeno. Served it with Quesadillas With Poblano Cream. What a great flavorful meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

    • on January 22, 2007

      I was going to submit this after getting the recipe off of Paula Dean's website. This is a wonderful recipe. I also roasted my peppers (anaheim instead of poblano because the store was out). This made for a great smoky flavor in the soup. I was out of heavy cream and had to sub half and half which kept mine from thickening as much as I would have liked but I solved that by pouring my serving over some crushed corn chips. My 10 year old daugher and my non soup loving huband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      This is a great chowder and works well as a supper main dish. I made a smaller batch and it came out perfectly. It's also another way to use up leftover chicken or turkey. Another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This was EXCELLENT. I used whole wheat flour to make it a little bit healthier, next time will try heavy cream substitute. EVERYBODY loved this, will definitely make it again. THanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      My husband and I really enjoyed this soup! I followed the directions exactly. This soup would be great served with warm flour tortillas! Heated the next day, this soup was even better! Thanks Sue L for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      This was a great flavorful soup. I left out the roux because my husband cant eat wheat, and I roaste the peppers cause it seamed like fun. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      I concur that this is a 5. I did make a couple of adjustments. I didn't have heavy cream, so used half and half. I also added a little more chicken stock because it was a little too thick. I skipped the cilantro, because my husband hates it. It would have been excellent without these changes.... just personal choice and the one ingredient I didn't have. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      Loved this. Very easy, but delicious flavor. Not too spicy, just right. This makes a TON of soup. We ate it all week. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Poblano Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.8
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    57%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 80.9 mg
    26%
    Sodium 611.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites