10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I made this as directed except for doubling the cinnamon as sugested by another reviewer.Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac December 23, 2011

We really enjoyed this dish. I used chicken thighs and drumsticks as we love dark meat. So easy and such a rewarding outcome. Thanks for the post! Made for Everyday is a Food Holiday, October, 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry October 20, 2011

Lovely chicken dish! I used boneless skinless breasts and no oil, otherwise made as directed. The chicken was perfectly cooked and full of flavor - loved the cinnamon and cloves. Served with roasted potatoes and green beans and just loved this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof May 31, 2010

I made one serving using a breast half and it turned out wonderfully. I used some cut onion and a small shallot for the onion and doubled the cinnamon. Great flavor and very easy to make. This is a dish that will be enjoyed year round by your entire family. Instead of the potatoes I used rice cooked in chicken broth. Yumm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 24, 2010

Wow, this was better than I really expected it to be. I used the fresh tomatoes skinning but not bothering to seed them. I cooked the chicken and found I had way more than two cups of pan juices left. I'm not fond of flour thickened sauces, so removed the chicken and reduced the liquid at a hard boil until it was a nice sauce consistency. It made for a rich and delicious sauce and I would do that again. I'm not fond of cloves so wasn't worried my DIL didn't have any-just doubled the cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS March 22, 2010

Delicious chicken, and very simple to make. I used chicken breasts, as that was all I had on hand, I just adjusted the cooking time accordingly. We loved the fresh tomatoes and the sweet/tangy sauce. Terrific! Thanks for posting. Made for Aussie Swap :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ February 25, 2010

Enjoyed this very much. The flavors were terrific. Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u January 30, 2010

Delicious! I love the flavor the cloves and cinnamon gives to the dish. We enjoyed the dish with potatoes as recommended, however, it would also be very good with pasta, rice or crusty bready. I did not add the 2 cups of water at the end. Thank you for the recipe. Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms November 01, 2009

What a lovely, rustic meal this made. I was able to use fresh tomatoes from our garden, too. I really enjoyed the slight cinnamon and clove flavoring. It made this chicken dish different. The chicken was nice and moist and, as suggested, went very well with potatoes. Thank you for posting! ~Made for TYM Tag~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 06, 2009

I used a pound of boneless/skinless thighs so cut the rest of the ingredients also. I wish I had of only halved the sauce ingredients. I really like the fact it used fresh tomatoes since it is just the two of us and when I use canned there is always leftovers. I thought this was good but my DH raved about it which was the cause of bickering at the table over stars LOL Made for Everyday is a Hoilday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 July 17, 2009
Chicken Aguascalientes