Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Cheesy Beef Taco Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Beef Taco Skillet

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      Wow! I figured I'd just throw this together for a quick dinner thinking it'd be alright, but it was VERY good! Such a simple recipe. I really enjoyed the texture of the cooked tortilla's. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      very quick and easy to throw together which is exactly what i needed tonight. i didn't have tomato soup so i used a small can of tomato sauce and 3/4 of the salsa. added some chopped onions to the ground beef, topped with a little sour cream. I don't think the soup was overpowering but it lacked something.. maybe some taco seasoning on the beef would do the trick? still a great weeknight meal and the kids loved it so its a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This is an easy meal, but the sweet flavor of the tomato soup is too overpowering. And with the tortillas it just ended up as slop.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      DS loves this, but I find the tomato soup is overpowering as well as another review. It's a good, quick, low cost meal that you can throw together in a few mins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2003

      Hubby and I both really enjoyed this both times I made it. Could easily be doubled or more for large groups. Nice with chips too. Loved the textures that mixed together and the salsa added a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      THis is such an easy dinner and the whole family enjoyed it. The salsa addes a lot. And the more cheese the better!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2014

      This was amazing. I changed a few things after having read other reviews. 1. I added taco seasoning mix to the ground beef. 2. I added corn 3. I added a lot more cheese. 4. I topped with black olives. Soooo yummy. Even my picky 6 year old lover it. 8 usually use so7r cream with my Mexican dishes, but this was so flavorful I didn't miss the sour cream that I didn't have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      We saw this recipe on the back of a tomato soup can about three years ago, and we love it. Corn tortillas detract from the taste to me so we use flour tortillas, only. Somehow when cooked, they give off a slightly sweet taste with the saltiness of the beef, etc. So good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      I thought this recipe was great! Super easy and quick. My daughter even liked it, who normally frowns at Mexican food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I have made this many times over the years with flour tortillas, but this time used corn tortillas and LOVED it! It tasted like a tamale pie, which I am a big fan of. I used scissors to cut the tortillas and took the time to cut them on the smaller side. Thanks for posting! Roxygirl Update: great with ground turkey with Seasoned Turkey Burgers .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I saw this in a magazine and it looked like a super easy recipe and it is. Took about 20 minutes to make. I use flour tortillia which was an option, but I did not care for the flavor. I would probably prefer the corn next time. I also added about 3/4 cup of frozen corn to add a little more dimention in the taste. I would make again, but with some adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Made this from a Campbell's add in a magazine and it quickly became a staple in my rotation. Everyone loved it - nice, squishy comfort food and it's super easy. Next time I will mix reduced fat Velveeta in at the end and omit the shredded cheddar. FYI - I wanted to get it down to 7 WW pts/serving, so here's what I did: used 4 flour tortillas instead of 8 which was plenty and decreased the serving size to serve 6 instead of 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      We thought this was pretty good. I made it as stated except I used ground turkey. It didn't seem to have a lot of flavor so I added chili powder. Next time I might season the meat 1st. It was very easy. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      This is wonderful meal for a busy weeknight! Very fast and easy and tastes good. I only used about a 1/2 cup Pace picante salsa and 1/2 cup cheese and put in about 4 large flour tortillas. Made about 3 servings. Thank you for posting! I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      My DH & I loved this dish. It was quick to make and I always have the ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      This was great. I didn't have tomato soup, so I used 8oz tomato sauce and 1/2 cup more salsa. Great quick dinner. Love the fact that it all cooks in one skillet. Would be great with sour cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I made this tonight with a couple of changes. I used Campbell's tomato soup with basil and oregano. I added one medium green pepper and 1/2 a red onion (had them on hand) which I fried with the ground beef. I used really lean ground beef so there wasn't any fat to drain. Really good stuff and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      I have fixed this several times now and just realized I hadn't rated it. My whole family loves it and as I said I have prepared it quite often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2004

      Good possibilities to tweak this recipe a bit to your taste. I found the tomato soup was too over-powering with the canned taste. Will change that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2004

      This was so quick and easy, and I had all of the ingedients. I used 4 small flour tortillas (torn into small pieces), and sprinkled on some lettuce, tomatoes, and olives after dishing up. Very good, thank-you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Beef Taco Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 524.4
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    48%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 106.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1071.3 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 33.0 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites