10 Reviews

Holy onion! Thankfully I used a small onion but I should have trusted my instincts, diced the onion and sauteed it for 8 minutes before adding it to the mixture. The raw onion was a little overpowering for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjmarch2012 October 19, 2013

I was surprised. These are really delicious. They are so simple. I did add a diced jalapeno and Cumin rather than chili powder. My onion was finely diced and I mixed the rice in with everything else. Put a small amount of cheese over the salsa and baked for 20 min with a lid and then another 10 minutes without.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunner9 April 29, 2013

These burritos were fantastic! I had never thought about placing them in the oven before, but I will be doing so from now on. The addition of onion, cilantro and chili powder to the beans made a huge difference. They tasted so fresh and flavorful! I moderated the recipe a little by using 1/4 of a red onion, less than 1 cup of brown rice, omitted the green chilies and ended up having enough to make 5 burritos instead of 8. I placed them on a sprayed cookie sheet, poured medium salsa over each one and baked them at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. The tortilla had a nice crunch while still being soft on the inside, and the salsa on top complemented it perfectly. I will definitely be making these again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yayforcookies February 10, 2013

This is an excellent recipe and is so filling and flavorful for so few calories. My husband loved it and he's no vegan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jfossi March 28, 2012

A wonderful recipe!! I used leftover black beans from Basic Black Beans (about 1/3 cup) & 1/4 cup leftover brown rice (from Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice). I didn't use salsa as a topping since it was already in the beans, but did serve some on the side w/ fat free sour cream. Since I love bold flavors I may mix a little cumin/chili powder w/ the brown rice for more of a kick. I topped it with low fat mozzarella cheese & melted it in a covered saucepan, rather than the oven method. I hope I have leftovers to have this again!! Thank u for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS April 14, 2010

These were great. Like another reviewer I didn't bake anything just through it all together in the wrap. Like other reviewers I added cumin and I also added a dash of cayenne and some minced garlic. We left the salsa, onion and chilis out. This is a flexible recipe as long as the rice and black beans are there I think one is free to experiment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisySunshine March 13, 2009

What more can I say??? these are really good, fast and scrummy!! I did not bake them, I just heated my rice and beans and threw my tortillas in the microwave for a few seconds and wrapped it all up, with some salsa and fat-free sour cream. I did not have any green chilis, but I did add some lime juice and cumin to the beans, also just a dash of worcestershire and a couple of drops of liquid smoke. Today I am having the leftovers with a little cheese!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snicklefritzie January 24, 2008

Okay, I bought a bag of brown rice and it has been sitting in my cabinet for a few months and I have been looking for the most flavorful way to use it. This is my first recipe I tried and I love it! Of course I am lazy and just cooked the rice, drained and rinsed the black beans, chopped onions and added the cilantro, red chili powder, 1/2 tsp. cumin and threw it on a tortilla with some cheese and sour cream. It was excellent. Next time, I will put the green chilies in there, I was just in a hurry today and didn't realize it would take an hour to cook the brown rice. On the ever upside, I have a meal(remaining burrito guts) for the rest of the week and something suitable for Friday (Lent). Thanks Donna!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 March 26, 2007

I loved these! They were so easy and quick to make and they tasted really yummy, especially with melted cheese on top with a dollop of sour cream. I didn't use the cilantro, but added a teaspoon of cumin because I love it. Thanks for the fast, healthy and delicious dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia August 15, 2005
Black Bean and Brown Rice Burritos