Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Black Bean and Brown Rice Burritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Black Bean and Brown Rice Burritos

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2013

      Holy onion! Thankfully I used a small onion but I should have trusted my instincts, diced the onion and sauteed it for 8 minutes before adding it to the mixture. The raw onion was a little overpowering for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      I was surprised. These are really delicious. They are so simple. I did add a diced jalapeno and Cumin rather than chili powder. My onion was finely diced and I mixed the rice in with everything else. Put a small amount of cheese over the salsa and baked for 20 min with a lid and then another 10 minutes without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      These burritos were fantastic! I had never thought about placing them in the oven before, but I will be doing so from now on. The addition of onion, cilantro and chili powder to the beans made a huge difference. They tasted so fresh and flavorful! I moderated the recipe a little by using 1/4 of a red onion, less than 1 cup of brown rice, omitted the green chilies and ended up having enough to make 5 burritos instead of 8. I placed them on a sprayed cookie sheet, poured medium salsa over each one and baked them at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. The tortilla had a nice crunch while still being soft on the inside, and the salsa on top complemented it perfectly. I will definitely be making these again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      This is an excellent recipe and is so filling and flavorful for so few calories. My husband loved it and he's no vegan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      A wonderful recipe!! I used leftover black beans from Basic Black Beans (about 1/3 cup) & 1/4 cup leftover brown rice (from Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice). I didn't use salsa as a topping since it was already in the beans, but did serve some on the side w/ fat free sour cream. Since I love bold flavors I may mix a little cumin/chili powder w/ the brown rice for more of a kick. I topped it with low fat mozzarella cheese & melted it in a covered saucepan, rather than the oven method. I hope I have leftovers to have this again!! Thank u for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      These were great. Like another reviewer I didn't bake anything just through it all together in the wrap. Like other reviewers I added cumin and I also added a dash of cayenne and some minced garlic. We left the salsa, onion and chilis out. This is a flexible recipe as long as the rice and black beans are there I think one is free to experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

    • on January 24, 2008

      What more can I say??? these are really good, fast and scrummy!! I did not bake them, I just heated my rice and beans and threw my tortillas in the microwave for a few seconds and wrapped it all up, with some salsa and fat-free sour cream. I did not have any green chilis, but I did add some lime juice and cumin to the beans, also just a dash of worcestershire and a couple of drops of liquid smoke. Today I am having the leftovers with a little cheese!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Okay, I bought a bag of brown rice and it has been sitting in my cabinet for a few months and I have been looking for the most flavorful way to use it. This is my first recipe I tried and I love it! Of course I am lazy and just cooked the rice, drained and rinsed the black beans, chopped onions and added the cilantro, red chili powder, 1/2 tsp. cumin and threw it on a tortilla with some cheese and sour cream. It was excellent. Next time, I will put the green chilies in there, I was just in a hurry today and didn't realize it would take an hour to cook the brown rice. On the ever upside, I have a meal(remaining burrito guts) for the rest of the week and something suitable for Friday (Lent). Thanks Donna!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      I loved these! They were so easy and quick to make and they tasted really yummy, especially with melted cheese on top with a dollop of sour cream. I didn't use the cilantro, but added a teaspoon of cumin because I love it. Thanks for the fast, healthy and delicious dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Black Bean and Brown Rice Burritos

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    12%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 660.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes