Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Mexican / Agasajos (Mexican Hot Chocolate) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Agasajos (Mexican Hot Chocolate)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2011

      What a perfect blend of flavors! I used a Thai Bird chili and left it and the cinnamon stick in until the end. This cocoa is like a carnival in your mouth. First, the rich, rose and saffron-hinted chocolate, followed by a spicy cinnamon-chili and it's all tempered by the fresh orange zest. So delicious! I wouldn't change a thing. Made exactly as directed. Thanks for posting another unique beverage recipe, horseplay! Made & enjoyed for the Spain & Portugal Forum's Saffron tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      Very rich, with a wonderfully complex flavour. Served a big batch of this at a Mexican Day of the Dead Potluck and it was all gone! The orange zest and saffron add a nice "grown up" taste to this and keeps it from being too sweet. Very decadent though - half a cup was enough for me. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Don't know what made me want to try this recipe more; seeing Tink's lovely photo or her exciting review. This is one very rich and warming hot chocolate - wondering how it would be with a splash of rum on those cold winter nights! As it is the flavors are wonderful. I felt like my pepper was large so took it out after the simmering stage but really didn't need to as it wasn't to spicy, just a pleasant blend. Topped with whipcream (after all it's hot chocolate) and very much enjoyed. Also tagged for the Saffron tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I used a dried chipotle chili (and left it in to the end with the cinnamon stick), and I thought it was a great choice. I would like to try this with other chilies, to see how they all work in this kind of hot chocolate drink. Thanks for sharing your recipe, horseplay. Made for the January tag game in the Spain & Portugal forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I agree with mikekey - 10 stars. That was OUTSTANDING! Made it without chili and loved the subtle rose water flavor mixed with orange. Definite keeper!! Thanks for posting! Made for Comfort Cafe Snowqueen's Round 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      10 STARS!!!! What an explosion of flavors. I was leery of the rosewater, but it was perfect, and complimented the chili, orange and cinnamon. I left my chili and cinnamon in until straining, and it was just the right amount of heat and spice. The only change I might make is cutting the amount of sugar (actually, I used Splenda, but would cut that too :) ) I would recommend tasting and then adding more sugar if needed. Made for Winter 2010 Comfort Cafe Recipe of the Day game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      This was excellent! Lots of interesting flavours and not too sweet. I had to buy $15.00 worth of roses just to make my own rose water, but it was well worth it. I didn't stray at all from the recipe, and I'm glad I didn't. Don't worry about the chili spicing it up too much. There isn't any real heat if you take it out before the chocolate is added. Thanks for posting, horseplay! Made for Spring PAC '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Congratulations if you've found this recipe. I have NEVER had hot chocolate with such subtle sophisticated flavors. You MUST make this. Deviations: I used 2 oz unsweetened chocolate + 2T extra sugar. I left the chili in, and the spice was too much for my nephew, but perfect for me! Comment: The portion size is almost too much for two. I would say this serves four people. I'll be making this for the rest of my life! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      What a treat! I was looking for ways to use rose water and came across with this little gem. Beautiful flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      This was GREAT!!! I made this as a special treat for my mom and she said it was wonderful! I did leave out the chilli but I did add the cinnamon stick. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Agasajos (Mexican Hot Chocolate)

    Serving Size: 1 (571 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 700.8
     
    Calories from Fat 433
    61%
    Total Fat 48.2 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 29.8 g
    149%
    Cholesterol 68.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 253.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.2 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    38%
    Sugars 25.5 g
    102%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rose water

    oranges, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites